News Flash

LIBRARY CORNER

Posted on: May 28, 2021

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/28/21 |

DVDs On a Shelf at the Library

Registration for Summer Fun Reading Club and Programs begins next week. Come and sign up for summer fun. Programs will be held in the library all month and then in July we’ll have Take and Makes. Also, be sure and watch for Story Walks in the parks. And, by the way, something spectacular is taking shape in the garden.

The Book Sale of the Century, sponsored by the Friends of the Library, will be held June 24-26 at the Civic Center. We’re still taking donations of gently used books, CDs and DVDs. Call us from the parking lot and we’ll help you unload.

Back to the June Library Reads list. The Personal Librarian by Marie Benedict is “both history and homage to the Morgan Library, one of the world’s greatest private libraries. It is also the story of a young African-American woman named Belle posing as a white woman of Portuguese descent. This is for fans of Fiona Davis’s historical novels.” (6-29) Jennifer Winberry

The Queer Principles of Kit Webb is by Cat Sebastian. “Lord Holland is being blackmailed and will do anything to get back his mother’s  book of secrets that has  been stolen by his father. He hires a reformed highwayman for one last job. This is for readers who enjoyed The Vicar and the Rake and A Fashionable Indulgence.” (6-8) Chris Fly

I’m waiting for To Sir, With Love by Lauren Layne. “This one’s a modern take on You’ve God Mail set in New York City. Gracie is running her family’s champagne boutique while Sebastian and his family are trying to buy out the building. The results are cute times two that would certainly make Nora Ephron proud. This is for fans of Jennifer Cruisie and Talia Hibbert.” (6-29) Amy Mehrie

The Woman They Could Not Silence: One Woman, Her Incredible Flight to Freedom, and the Men Who Tried to Make Her Disappear is by Kate Moore. “In 1860, Packard was committed to an insane asylum by her husband with no evidence of any condition other than she disagreed with him on some issues and spoke her mind. Moore deftly presents Packard’s story of her confinement and subsequent trial and crusade to improve women’s legal standing. Give this book to those interested in stories of trailblazing women, legal thrillers, and even true crime.” (6-22) PJ Gardiner

Zakiya Dalila Harris’s new book is The Other Black Girl. “Nella, an editorial assistant at Wagner Books, is excited when another Black girl is hired at her publishing company. But after a mysterious note turns up on her desk that warns her to ‘Leave Wagner Now’, she is left questioning who could want her gone. Provocative and suspenseful, this genre-bending book is perfect for fans of When No One is Watching and the movie ‘Get Out’. (6-1) Erin Shea

Things are rapidly returning to normal in the library and we’re thrilled to see lots of “old” faces and many new ones, too. We’re still doing curbside service, so if that works best for you, just give us a call. 

Happy reading and we’ll look for you in the library or curbside!

Helen Thompson, Director - Mount Pleasant Public Library

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in LIBRARY CORNER

Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/23/21 |

Posted on: July 23, 2021
LibraryGardenBenches

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/16/21 |

Posted on: July 16, 2021
School Bus Outside Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/02/21 |

Posted on: July 2, 2021
Knockout Roses along the side of the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/25/21 |

Posted on: June 25, 2021
An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/18/21 |

Posted on: June 18, 2021
An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/04/21 |

Posted on: June 4, 2021
Library Summer Fun

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/21/21 |

Posted on: May 21, 2021
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/12/21 |

Posted on: May 12, 2021
Check out Area of Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 0507/21 |

Posted on: May 7, 2021
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/30/21 |

Posted on: April 30, 2021
Interior Library Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/21 |

Posted on: April 23, 2021
DVD Display Table at the Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/16/21 |

Posted on: April 16, 2021
Spanish Books On Shelf At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/02/21 |

Posted on: April 2, 2021
AnimalBannerInsideLibrary

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/26/21 |

Posted on: March 26, 2021
Garden At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/12/21 |

Posted on: March 12, 2021
Magazines On Shelf In Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/04/21 |

Posted on: March 4, 2021
Childrens Library Books on Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/26/21 |

Posted on: February 26, 2021
Library Books

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/12/21 |

Posted on: February 12, 2021
Fiction Shelves In Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/04/21 |

Posted on: February 4, 2021
Books On Library Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/29/21 |

Posted on: January 29, 2021
Library Interior

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/22/21 |

Posted on: January 22, 2021
DVDs On a Shelf at the Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/08/21 |

Posted on: January 8, 2021
Christmas Decor

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/18/20 |

Posted on: December 18, 2020
Christmas Scenes Painted On Library Windows

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/11/20 |

Posted on: December 11, 2020
Christmas Tree In Library Foyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/05/20 |

Posted on: December 5, 2020
Library Books On Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/23/20 |

Posted on: November 23, 2020
Fall Ragdoll decoration at the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/06/20 |

Posted on: November 6, 2020
Fall decoration of dolls in a wagon

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/09/20 |

Posted on: October 9, 2020
Orange Fall Leaves

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/02/20 |

Posted on: October 2, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/18/20 |

Posted on: September 18, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/11/20 |

Posted on: September 11, 2020
School Bus Outside Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/04/20 |

Posted on: September 4, 2020
An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/26/20 |

Posted on: August 28, 2020
Knockout Roses along the side of the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/22/20 |

Posted on: August 22, 2020
Mount Pleasant Seal at Public Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/14/20 |

Posted on: August 14, 2020
Man Reading A Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/07/20 |

Posted on: August 7, 2020
Stack of Books with Reading Glasses on top

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/31/20 |

Posted on: July 31, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 24, 2020
Signage for Story Walk in Caldwell Park

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 20, 2020
Statue of Children Reading with Masks On

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/04/20 |

Posted on: July 3, 2020
Story Time at Caldwell Park - Lady reading to children

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/26/20 |

Posted on: June 26, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/19/20 |

Posted on: June 19, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/12/20 |

Posted on: June 12, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/05/20 |

Posted on: June 5, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/29/20 |

Posted on: May 29, 2020
Library Summer Fun

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/22/20 |

Posted on: May 22, 2020
Toy Trains At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/15/20 |

Posted on: May 15, 2020
An inflatable clown greets customers to the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/08/20 |

Posted on: May 8, 2020
Curbside pickup from the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/01/20 |

Posted on: May 1, 2020
A couple in a car collecting library books curbside.

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/20 |

Posted on: April 23, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/17/20 |

Posted on: April 17, 2020
Art In The Library Event Thumbnail

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/09/20 |

Posted on: April 9, 2020