News Flash

LIBRARY CORNER

Posted on: May 21, 2021

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/21/21 |

Library Summer Fun

Summer Fun Reading Club and Programs begin in June. Come in the first week of June and sign up. Programs will be held in the library all month and then in July we’ll have Take and Makes. All summer look for Story Walks in the parks.

The Book Sale of the Century, sponsored by the Friends of the Library, will be held June 24-26 at the Civic Center. We’re still taking donations of gently used books, CDs and DVDs. Call us from the parking lot and we’ll help you unload. 

June’s Library Reads List is here and among their picks is The Maidens by Alex Michaelides. “Tragedy dogs Mariana’s footsteps as she struggles to recover from the deaths of her husband, sister, brother-in-law, and father. Then, in her beloved Cambridge, young girls are being killed. Fearing for her niece, Mariana is determined to find the murderer, and in a twisted plot discovers that she doesn’t know who to believe, including herself. This is for readers who liked The Sea of Lost Girls and The Secret History.” (6-15) Courtney Reece

Another June selection is One Last Stop by Casey McQuiston. “This is a phenomenal read with well-developed characters and a unique, compelling plot. For August, romance is way at the bottom of her to-do list. Then she meets a mysterious stranger who’s always on the same subway car, no matter where or when August gets on. Before she knows it, they’re a thing. There’s just one catch: Jane isn’t really here. This one’s for fans of Meryl Wisner, Morgan Rogers and Jasmine Guilllory.” (6-1) Heather Cover

Katee Robert’s new book is Neon Gods. “Robert masterfully turns the myth of Persephone and Hades on its head, making it modern and exploring issues of consent and the arranged marriage trope (which she delightfully subverts.) The steamy sex is absolutely integral to the plot, and Robert includes nods to the original myth. This is for fans of The Unhoneymooners and The Dating Plan.” (6-1) Kate Fais

The One Hundred Years of  Lenni and Margot is by Marianne Cronin and looks like a good one. “In a Glasgow hospital, two dying patients, one a teen and one much older, begin an art project to chronicle their lives. This delightful ‘Odd Couple’ pair, along with the hospital chaplain and a gaggle of well-meaning staff, help Lenni live her best life through Margot’s stories and show what really is important. Fans of Fredrik Backman and Gail Honeyman will love this book.” (6-1) Kimberly McGee

Our Woman in Moscow is the latest by Beatriz Williams. “This is a spy novel set in Europe during and after WWII and features twin sisters, Ruth and Iris. It’s a cat-and-mouse game of intrigue and it’s often hard to tell not only who is guilty or innocent, but also who is who? Give this one to readers who enjoy Kate Quinn’s brave female characters.” (6-1) Gail Christensen

Right now, the sun’s shining. We are, however, thinking about building a boat, so be sure and have a good book with you! Happy reading.

Helen Thompson, Director - Mount Pleasant Public Library

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in LIBRARY CORNER

Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/23/21 |

Posted on: July 23, 2021
LibraryGardenBenches

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/16/21 |

Posted on: July 16, 2021
School Bus Outside Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/02/21 |

Posted on: July 2, 2021
Knockout Roses along the side of the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/25/21 |

Posted on: June 25, 2021
An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/18/21 |

Posted on: June 18, 2021
An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/04/21 |

Posted on: June 4, 2021
DVDs On a Shelf at the Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/28/21 |

Posted on: May 28, 2021
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/12/21 |

Posted on: May 12, 2021
Check out Area of Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 0507/21 |

Posted on: May 7, 2021
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/30/21 |

Posted on: April 30, 2021
Interior Library Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/21 |

Posted on: April 23, 2021
DVD Display Table at the Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/16/21 |

Posted on: April 16, 2021
Spanish Books On Shelf At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/02/21 |

Posted on: April 2, 2021
AnimalBannerInsideLibrary

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/26/21 |

Posted on: March 26, 2021
Garden At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/12/21 |

Posted on: March 12, 2021
Magazines On Shelf In Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/04/21 |

Posted on: March 4, 2021
Childrens Library Books on Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/26/21 |

Posted on: February 26, 2021
Library Books

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/12/21 |

Posted on: February 12, 2021
Fiction Shelves In Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/04/21 |

Posted on: February 4, 2021
Books On Library Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/29/21 |

Posted on: January 29, 2021
Library Interior

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/22/21 |

Posted on: January 22, 2021
DVDs On a Shelf at the Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/08/21 |

Posted on: January 8, 2021
Christmas Decor

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/18/20 |

Posted on: December 18, 2020
Christmas Scenes Painted On Library Windows

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/11/20 |

Posted on: December 11, 2020
Christmas Tree In Library Foyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/05/20 |

Posted on: December 5, 2020
Library Books On Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/23/20 |

Posted on: November 23, 2020
Fall Ragdoll decoration at the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/06/20 |

Posted on: November 6, 2020
Fall decoration of dolls in a wagon

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/09/20 |

Posted on: October 9, 2020
Orange Fall Leaves

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/02/20 |

Posted on: October 2, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/18/20 |

Posted on: September 18, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/11/20 |

Posted on: September 11, 2020
School Bus Outside Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/04/20 |

Posted on: September 4, 2020
An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/26/20 |

Posted on: August 28, 2020
Knockout Roses along the side of the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/22/20 |

Posted on: August 22, 2020
Mount Pleasant Seal at Public Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/14/20 |

Posted on: August 14, 2020
Man Reading A Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/07/20 |

Posted on: August 7, 2020
Stack of Books with Reading Glasses on top

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/31/20 |

Posted on: July 31, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 24, 2020
Signage for Story Walk in Caldwell Park

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 20, 2020
Statue of Children Reading with Masks On

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/04/20 |

Posted on: July 3, 2020
Story Time at Caldwell Park - Lady reading to children

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/26/20 |

Posted on: June 26, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/19/20 |

Posted on: June 19, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/12/20 |

Posted on: June 12, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/05/20 |

Posted on: June 5, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/29/20 |

Posted on: May 29, 2020
Library Summer Fun

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/22/20 |

Posted on: May 22, 2020
Toy Trains At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/15/20 |

Posted on: May 15, 2020
An inflatable clown greets customers to the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/08/20 |

Posted on: May 8, 2020
Curbside pickup from the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/01/20 |

Posted on: May 1, 2020
A couple in a car collecting library books curbside.

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/20 |

Posted on: April 23, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/17/20 |

Posted on: April 17, 2020
Art In The Library Event Thumbnail

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/09/20 |

Posted on: April 9, 2020