News Flash

LIBRARY CORNER

Posted on: April 23, 2021

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/21 |

Interior Library Shelves

THE APRIL LIBRARY READS LIST


The drawing for the handmade quilt is Friday, April 30. Please come by and take a look at the beautiful quilt my sister-in-law, Linda, donated to our Friends of the Library. Tickets are just $1 each, 6 for $5 or 12 for $10. Drop in and buy 1 or 100 tickets! All donations benefit the library.

I’m in the middle of Jaqueline Winspear’s latest Maisie Dobbs novel, The Consequences of Fear, and it is so, so good! Great Britain is at war with Germany and Maisie not only is employed as a private investigator, but is also secretly working for the government.  As the book opens, a young message “runner” has witnessed a murder and the police believe he imagined it. He turns to Maisie for help. In the meantime, Maisie is called upon to help recruit and train agents who will be dropped into France to work with the Resistance.  This is my absolute favorite series, but you need to start with the first one, Masie Dobbs

Now, back to our April Library Reads list. One of their top picks is People We Meet on Vacation by Emily Henry. “This is a romance focused on chaotic sprite Poppy and buttoned up Alex and their twelve years of summer vacations. Set in present- day Palm Springs and interspersed with flashbacks from the previous vacations, the story is full of yearning, friendship, and the discussions of what it means to find a home. This is for fans of This Time Next Year, One Day in December, and Waiting for Tom Hanks.” (5-11) Elizabeth Gabriel 

Arsenic and Adobo by Mia Manansala is a “fast paced, cozy mystery with a diverse and colorful cast that will make you laugh, cringe, and salivate. Lila has returned home to help with the family’s failing Filipino restaurant, which is repeatedly panned by her food blogger ex. When he comes to lunch and ends up face down in his dessert, Lila becomes the prime murder suspect. This one’s for those who enjoyed Dial A for Aunties and Mimi Lee Gets a Clue.” (5-4) Laura Eckert

In Mary Jane by Jessica Anya Blau, “it’s 1975 and Mary Jane takes a job babysitting while all her friends are away at summer camp. The job comes with exposure to a celebrity and her addicted rock star husband. Mary Jane experiences a world very different from her own. This is for readers who enjoyed Be Frank with Me, Nothing to See Here, and This Tender Land.” (5-11) Jan Fisher

Popular author Mary Kay Andrews’ latest is The Newcomer. “Letty is on the run with her four-year-old niece, afraid she will be accused of her sister’s murder. She ends up at a beach-front motel in Florida. The place is filled with interesting and entertaining characters. Murder, fugitives, romance and a great cast of characters, this is a perfect beach read. Fans of Elin Hildenbrand and Janet Evanovich will love this one.” (5-4) Sandy Ruhmann

Talk Bookish to Me is by Kate Bromley. “A must-read novel, this enemies-to-lovers contemporary romance has enough tension and sizzle to satisfy any romance reader. Bonus, the lead character is a romance writer and readers get a romance novel within a romance novel. This is for readers who loved Much Ado About You and The Invitation.” (5-25) Hannah Spratt

Remember that we’re open on Saturday from 10-1. We’re hoping that gives everyone a few extra hours to visit the library. Happy reading!

Helen Thompson, Director - Mount Pleasant Public Library

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in LIBRARY CORNER

An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/04/21 |

Posted on: June 4, 2021
DVDs On a Shelf at the Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/28/21 |

Posted on: May 28, 2021
Library Summer Fun

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/21/21 |

Posted on: May 21, 2021
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/12/21 |

Posted on: May 12, 2021
Check out Area of Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 0507/21 |

Posted on: May 7, 2021
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/30/21 |

Posted on: April 30, 2021
DVD Display Table at the Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/16/21 |

Posted on: April 16, 2021
Spanish Books On Shelf At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/02/21 |

Posted on: April 2, 2021
AnimalBannerInsideLibrary

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/26/21 |

Posted on: March 26, 2021
Garden At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/12/21 |

Posted on: March 12, 2021
Magazines On Shelf In Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/04/21 |

Posted on: March 4, 2021
Childrens Library Books on Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/26/21 |

Posted on: February 26, 2021
Library Books

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/12/21 |

Posted on: February 12, 2021
Fiction Shelves In Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/04/21 |

Posted on: February 4, 2021
Books On Library Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/29/21 |

Posted on: January 29, 2021
Library Interior

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/22/21 |

Posted on: January 22, 2021
DVDs On a Shelf at the Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/08/21 |

Posted on: January 8, 2021
Christmas Decor

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/18/20 |

Posted on: December 18, 2020
Christmas Scenes Painted On Library Windows

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/11/20 |

Posted on: December 11, 2020
Christmas Tree In Library Foyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/05/20 |

Posted on: December 5, 2020
Library Books On Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/23/20 |

Posted on: November 23, 2020
Fall Ragdoll decoration at the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/06/20 |

Posted on: November 6, 2020
Fall decoration of dolls in a wagon

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/09/20 |

Posted on: October 9, 2020
Orange Fall Leaves

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/02/20 |

Posted on: October 2, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/18/20 |

Posted on: September 18, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/11/20 |

Posted on: September 11, 2020
School Bus Outside Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/04/20 |

Posted on: September 4, 2020
An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/26/20 |

Posted on: August 28, 2020
Knockout Roses along the side of the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/22/20 |

Posted on: August 22, 2020
Mount Pleasant Seal at Public Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/14/20 |

Posted on: August 14, 2020
Man Reading A Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/07/20 |

Posted on: August 7, 2020
Stack of Books with Reading Glasses on top

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/31/20 |

Posted on: July 31, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 24, 2020
Signage for Story Walk in Caldwell Park

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 20, 2020
Statue of Children Reading with Masks On

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/04/20 |

Posted on: July 3, 2020
Story Time at Caldwell Park - Lady reading to children

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/26/20 |

Posted on: June 26, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/19/20 |

Posted on: June 19, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/12/20 |

Posted on: June 12, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/05/20 |

Posted on: June 5, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/29/20 |

Posted on: May 29, 2020
Library Summer Fun

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/22/20 |

Posted on: May 22, 2020
Toy Trains At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/15/20 |

Posted on: May 15, 2020
An inflatable clown greets customers to the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/08/20 |

Posted on: May 8, 2020
Curbside pickup from the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/01/20 |

Posted on: May 1, 2020
A couple in a car collecting library books curbside.

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/20 |

Posted on: April 23, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/17/20 |

Posted on: April 17, 2020
Art In The Library Event Thumbnail

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/09/20 |

Posted on: April 9, 2020