News Flash

LIBRARY CORNER

Posted on: April 16, 2021

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/16/21 |

DVD Display Table at the Library

THANK YOU FRIENDS OF THE LIBRARY


The Friends’ Luncheon was a hit! Thank you, everyone, who worked or purchased lunch. All of the proceeds from Friends’ projects benefit the library and we appreciate their help. As an important side note, we need more Friends! Please consider joining the group. We can give you info here in the library. The next BIG fundraiser is our annual book sale which will be held at the Civic Center. We’ll get back to you with the dates.

Drop by our garden and take a look at our Story Time vegetable/flower garden. Our preschoolers have planted and will help take care of their plants this summer. They had a ball digging the holes, planting, mulching and watering their treasures. If you have a preschooler, Ms. Natalie does a terrific story time every Tuesday at 11 a.m. Join us. 

Also, remember that the library has reopened on Saturday. Our Saturday hours are 10 a.m. until 1 p.m. See you then!

Lilly just finished reading Memoirs of Jennifer Worth. “These are the stories that inspired the popular television show, ‘Call the Midwife’. I think reading this was like All Creatures Great and Small. She’s like the James Herriot of babies! I couldn’t put it down. It’s a pleasant, easy read that also provides a bit of British history and culture. You’ll laugh and cry, but only feel sad because the book ends.”

April’s Library Reads list seemed a little blah to me, but I think the books coming out in May will be great. Among them is The Bookshop of Second Chances by Jackie Fraser. “Nothing like turning a page in an upended life to find a surprising plot twist leading to a satisfying ending. That’s what readers will find in this charming novel. The power of books to soothe will attract bibliophiles, but keep them for the lively banter of the romantic leads, the quirky local residents, and the brisk Scottish countryside. Perfect for fans of Evvie Drake Starts Over and The Bookish Life of Nina Hill.” (5-4) Kaite Stover

The Woman with the Blue Star is by Pam Jenoff. “This story is based on the true stories of Jewish families who utilized the sewers to escape persecution during WWII. Sadie struggles to come to terms with loss. Ella struggles to figure out where she fits in amidst the chaos. Their friendship brings them hope and purpose. This is for readers who enjoyed The Rose Code and Our Darkest Night.” (5-4) Kate Eminhizer

Stacey Abrams new book is While Justice Sleeps. “Avery’s boss is a Supreme Court Justice who he is currently in a coma after naming Avery (instead of his wife) as his guardian. This situation is further complicated by the fact that the judge is a swing vote in a very important decision before the court. How well Avery knows her boss will determine the fate of both of them. This is for readers of John Grisham and Robert Dugoni.” (5-11)

The Invisible Husband of Frick Island is by Colleen Oakley. “Anders, a journalist, is sent to Frick Island to cover a Cake Walk, where he meets Piper, a widow who behaves as if her husband never died. The strangest thing is, the entire island goes along with this delusion. Anders, who is smitten with Piper, is determined to find out why. This is for fans of The Story of Arthur Truluv and The Garden of Small Beginnings.” (5-25) Aubrey Parker

I just finished Julia Spencer Fleming’s latest in the Clare Fergusson series. Through the Evil Days is the best of the series. Of course, like the Gamache novels, I’ve grown attached to the characters, and all of them go through great changes as they look for a little girl who has been kidnapped. To make matters worse, she is a liver transplant recipient and must have her meds in order to live. Because of this, their window of opportunity to find her alive is very short. You still need to read these in order, but they are worth the time. There should be a new addition to the series later this year. 

We’re happy to say that this has been our most “normal” week in more than a year. It’s been so good to see more and more people in the library. Kid are laughing, kids are screaming and library life goes on. Come visit us!

Helen, Thompson, Director - Mount Pleasant Library

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in LIBRARY CORNER

An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/04/21 |

Posted on: June 4, 2021
DVDs On a Shelf at the Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/28/21 |

Posted on: May 28, 2021
Library Summer Fun

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/21/21 |

Posted on: May 21, 2021
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/12/21 |

Posted on: May 12, 2021
Check out Area of Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 0507/21 |

Posted on: May 7, 2021
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/30/21 |

Posted on: April 30, 2021
Interior Library Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/21 |

Posted on: April 23, 2021
Spanish Books On Shelf At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/02/21 |

Posted on: April 2, 2021
AnimalBannerInsideLibrary

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/26/21 |

Posted on: March 26, 2021
Garden At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/12/21 |

Posted on: March 12, 2021
Magazines On Shelf In Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/04/21 |

Posted on: March 4, 2021
Childrens Library Books on Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/26/21 |

Posted on: February 26, 2021
Library Books

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/12/21 |

Posted on: February 12, 2021
Fiction Shelves In Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/04/21 |

Posted on: February 4, 2021
Books On Library Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/29/21 |

Posted on: January 29, 2021
Library Interior

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/22/21 |

Posted on: January 22, 2021
DVDs On a Shelf at the Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/08/21 |

Posted on: January 8, 2021
Christmas Decor

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/18/20 |

Posted on: December 18, 2020
Christmas Scenes Painted On Library Windows

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/11/20 |

Posted on: December 11, 2020
Christmas Tree In Library Foyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/05/20 |

Posted on: December 5, 2020
Library Books On Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/23/20 |

Posted on: November 23, 2020
Fall Ragdoll decoration at the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/06/20 |

Posted on: November 6, 2020
Fall decoration of dolls in a wagon

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/09/20 |

Posted on: October 9, 2020
Orange Fall Leaves

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/02/20 |

Posted on: October 2, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/18/20 |

Posted on: September 18, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/11/20 |

Posted on: September 11, 2020
School Bus Outside Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/04/20 |

Posted on: September 4, 2020
An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/26/20 |

Posted on: August 28, 2020
Knockout Roses along the side of the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/22/20 |

Posted on: August 22, 2020
Mount Pleasant Seal at Public Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/14/20 |

Posted on: August 14, 2020
Man Reading A Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/07/20 |

Posted on: August 7, 2020
Stack of Books with Reading Glasses on top

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/31/20 |

Posted on: July 31, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 24, 2020
Signage for Story Walk in Caldwell Park

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 20, 2020
Statue of Children Reading with Masks On

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/04/20 |

Posted on: July 3, 2020
Story Time at Caldwell Park - Lady reading to children

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/26/20 |

Posted on: June 26, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/19/20 |

Posted on: June 19, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/12/20 |

Posted on: June 12, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/05/20 |

Posted on: June 5, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/29/20 |

Posted on: May 29, 2020
Library Summer Fun

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/22/20 |

Posted on: May 22, 2020
Toy Trains At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/15/20 |

Posted on: May 15, 2020
An inflatable clown greets customers to the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/08/20 |

Posted on: May 8, 2020
Curbside pickup from the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/01/20 |

Posted on: May 1, 2020
A couple in a car collecting library books curbside.

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/20 |

Posted on: April 23, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/17/20 |

Posted on: April 17, 2020
Art In The Library Event Thumbnail

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/09/20 |

Posted on: April 9, 2020