News Flash

LIBRARY CORNER

Posted on: April 2, 2021

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/02/21 |

Spanish Books On Shelf At The Library

PRESCHOOL STORY TIME STARTS TUESDAY, APRIL 6


Good things are coming. Saturday hours begin April 10, from 10 a.m. until 1 p.m. We’re looking forward to seeing you on Saturdays. Also, Natalie’s Story Time blasts off Tuesday, April 6, at 11 a.m. Bring your preschoolers. 

Come by the library this month and take a good, long look at the handmade quilt my sweet sister-in-law, Linda Kitchens, donated to the Friends of the Library. For a $1 donation, you have a chance to take this king-size beauty home. Don’t miss this opportunity. Drawing will be held April 23 and all donations benefit the library.

Join us for Lunch with Friends Friday, April 9, from 11:30-1:30. All take-out orders include your choice of Crawfish Bisque or Taco Soup, dessert and drink. Tickets are $10 and are available at the library or from a Friends’ member. Tickets must be purchased by April 6. All proceeds benefit the library. 

April’s Zoom Book Club meets Thursday, April 15, at 6 p.m. This month’s book is The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles. If you’d like to join the conversation, send me your email address and I’ll send you the Zoom link.

If you’ve been anxiously waiting for the latest Maisie Dobbs, your wait is over. The Consequences of Fear by Jaqueline Winspear is number 16 in the series. I agree with the Wall Street Journal who said that each installment of Maisie Dobbs just keeps getting better and better. 

Jenny Lawson’s Broken is on the April Library Reads list. “Lawson is a hot mess of depression and anxiety. She is also hilarious. In this book she lays herself open. She celebrates all those awkward and difficult parts of herself and invites you to celebrate your own. She will make you laugh until you cry, and then she wraps up the episode with some profound truth that catches you unaware. This one’s for readers who like David Sedaris and Ali Wong.” (4-6) Beth Morrill

Jesse Q Sutanto’s debut novel is Dial A for Aunties. “Meddy’s blind date doesn’t end as planned, and now she needs to dispose of a corpse. Her mother’s solution: call in the three aunties. What follows is a roller coaster ride of a weekend with the Chan family trying to get rid of the body while working at a high-profile wedding. This is a fast paced and darkly-humorous debut with sweet romantic moments throughout and is for fans of My Sister, the Serial Killer and Get a Life, Chloe Brown.” (4-27) Laura Eckert

“Abby Jimenez hits it out of the park again in Life’s Too Short. She combines real-world issues with the get-the-girl, lose-the-girl dynamics of a romance. In this case, Adrian has a good chance of losing Vanessa to ALS. They both have multiple family issues including a hoarding father, an abandoning parent, a sister with addiction issues, and a baby niece that needs attention. Give this to fans of Mia Sosa and Josie Silver.” (4-6) Maggie Holmes

The Music of Bees is by Eileen Garvin. “Beekeeper Alice is an older widow who is working to save her small town from big corporate greed. She forms an alliance with two young adults who both find unexpected joy in nature. This is for those who enjoyed Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.” (4-27) Paulette Brooks

Sally Thorne’s new book is Second First Impressions. “Ruthie Midona, twenty-something, works in a retirement community and feels like she fits in more with the residents than with her peers. Enter an attractive tattooed male assistant hired by the eccentric 90-year-old Parloni Sisters. This romance is filled with heart and laughter. It will appeal to readers of Helen Hoang and Jasmine Guillory.” (4-6) Kathleen Fais

Finally, we have The Night Always Comes by Willy Vlautin. “Lynette is trying to buy the family home from her landlord as housing prices rise around her. At the last moment, her mother says she will not cosign for the loan and Lynette does not qualify on her own. In a last-ditch effort, Lynette sets off on an odyssey of collecting old debts and a miniature crime spree. This one’s for readers who like Raymond Chandler, John Banville and Elmore Leonard.” (4-6) Mary Robinson

One last thought. We lost a legend last week. Children’s author, Beverly Cleary, died at the age of 104. Her Mouse on the Motorcycle and Ramona Quimby books are classic children’s literature that continue to be enjoyed by children and their parents. Beverly Cleary, you will be missed.

Happy reading and we’ll look for you in the library!

Helen Thompson, Director - Mount Pleasant Library

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in LIBRARY CORNER

Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/12/21 |

Posted on: May 12, 2021
Check out Area of Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 0507/21 |

Posted on: May 7, 2021
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/30/21 |

Posted on: April 30, 2021
Interior Library Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/21 |

Posted on: April 23, 2021
DVD Display Table at the Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/16/21 |

Posted on: April 16, 2021
AnimalBannerInsideLibrary

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/26/21 |

Posted on: March 26, 2021
Garden At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/12/21 |

Posted on: March 12, 2021
Magazines On Shelf In Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/04/21 |

Posted on: March 4, 2021
Childrens Library Books on Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/26/21 |

Posted on: February 26, 2021
Library Books

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/12/21 |

Posted on: February 12, 2021
Fiction Shelves In Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/04/21 |

Posted on: February 4, 2021
Books On Library Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/29/21 |

Posted on: January 29, 2021
Library Interior

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/22/21 |

Posted on: January 22, 2021
DVDs On a Shelf at the Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/08/21 |

Posted on: January 8, 2021
Christmas Decor

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/18/20 |

Posted on: December 18, 2020
Christmas Scenes Painted On Library Windows

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/11/20 |

Posted on: December 11, 2020
Christmas Tree In Library Foyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/05/20 |

Posted on: December 5, 2020
Library Books On Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/23/20 |

Posted on: November 23, 2020
Fall Ragdoll decoration at the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/06/20 |

Posted on: November 6, 2020
Fall decoration of dolls in a wagon

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/09/20 |

Posted on: October 9, 2020
Orange Fall Leaves

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/02/20 |

Posted on: October 2, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/18/20 |

Posted on: September 18, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/11/20 |

Posted on: September 11, 2020
School Bus Outside Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/04/20 |

Posted on: September 4, 2020
An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/26/20 |

Posted on: August 28, 2020
Knockout Roses along the side of the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/22/20 |

Posted on: August 22, 2020
Mount Pleasant Seal at Public Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/14/20 |

Posted on: August 14, 2020
Man Reading A Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/07/20 |

Posted on: August 7, 2020
Stack of Books with Reading Glasses on top

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/31/20 |

Posted on: July 31, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 24, 2020
Signage for Story Walk in Caldwell Park

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 20, 2020
Statue of Children Reading with Masks On

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/04/20 |

Posted on: July 3, 2020
Story Time at Caldwell Park - Lady reading to children

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/26/20 |

Posted on: June 26, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/19/20 |

Posted on: June 19, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/12/20 |

Posted on: June 12, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/05/20 |

Posted on: June 5, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/29/20 |

Posted on: May 29, 2020
Library Summer Fun

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/22/20 |

Posted on: May 22, 2020
Toy Trains At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/15/20 |

Posted on: May 15, 2020
An inflatable clown greets customers to the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/08/20 |

Posted on: May 8, 2020
Curbside pickup from the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/01/20 |

Posted on: May 1, 2020
A couple in a car collecting library books curbside.

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/20 |

Posted on: April 23, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/17/20 |

Posted on: April 17, 2020
Art In The Library Event Thumbnail

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/09/20 |

Posted on: April 9, 2020