News Flash

LIBRARY CORNER

Posted on: March 4, 2021

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/04/21 |

Magazines On Shelf In Library

Come Visit The LIbrary


We’re enjoying the beautiful weather and hoping that spring is right around the corner. What a great time to visit the library and grab something good to read, listen to or watch!

Preschool parents, rejoice! Ms. Natalie told me that she will begin Story Time Tuesday, April 6, at 11 a.m. Plan to be here and block off each Tuesday morning for stories and a take-home craft.

Ms. Jeanette has Summer Reading Programs planned! We’ll supply take-home crafts in June and then plan to have outdoor activities in July. Get ready for fun!

Here’s more from Library Reads for March, including The Lost Village by Camilla  Sten: “Set in a rural village in Sweden, where 800 inhabitants vanished in 1959, Alice and her crew set out to make a documentary about the mysterious event. The book weaves together the story of the current-day documentarians with the story of the villagers of the past. This one’s for readers who enjoyed Ghost Wall and Disappearing Earth.” (3-23) Sandra Heitzman 

Float Plan is by Trish Doller. “After the death of her fiancé, Anna decides to complete the sailing voyage they had planned, alone. This is a heartfelt story of navigating through grief and finding oneself and a new direction in life along the way. This is good for fans of Pretending and The Fifteen Wonders of Daniel Green.” (3-2) Sandra Woodbury

In Libertie, a novel by Kaitlyn Greenidge, “Libertie is a Black girl living with her mother, a doctor who helps slaves in their run to freedom. Libertie thinks her mother is herself enslaved by her work, but after she marries and moves to the Caribbean, things seem less clear. This is for readers who enjoyed Washington Black and Underground Railroad.” (3-30) Marie Byars

Chris Whitaker’s new book is We Begin at the End. “Compelling and heartbreaking, this story brings together two of the most compelling characters you may ever meet. Duchess Day Radley and Walk are bound together by uneasy threads, each compelled to dig in and survive, even as they try to move beyond their pasts and what seem to be their inevitable futures. If you enjoyed The Good Daughter and The Roanoke Girls, you’ll like this one.” (3-2) Jennifer Ohzourk

SJ Bennett’s latest is The Windsor Knot. “When a mysterious death occurs at Windsor Castle, Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth and Private Secretary Rozie must solve the case when MI5 and the police head in the wrong direction. A great cast of characters and a wonderful sense of setting make a fun and entertaining read for readers who loved Hope Never Dies and Tuesday Mooney Talks to Ghosts.” (3-9) Jennifer Williams

Don, one of our patrons, dropped off a couple of DVD reviews. “I highly recommend the movie ‘The Book Thief’.  It’s very realistic fiction. This is the story of a young teen in Nazi Germany who is adopted by a childless couple. During WWII, the family hides a Jew in the basement. Full of extreme drama, intense joy, unbelievable sadness, it is a story of resilience, courage and triumph over every obstacle. I think parents should watch it with their 13+ children and talk about the life lessons contained in the film.” 

“Most of the Hallmark series are now in the library, including ‘Signed, Sealed and Delivered’. This series contains wonderful stories about letters and words that change lives. Quirky characters cooperate to uncover mystery and bring out the best in people. These are suitable for all ages. From the director of ‘Touched by an Angel’.” 

If you’d like to contribute a book or DVD review, email me or just drop it off in the library. 

Currently, I’m reading All Moral Flesh by Julia Spencer-Fleming. It’s number five in the series and each book just keeps getting better and better. There are nine of these, so you’ll be hearing about them for a few weeks. In this one, Russ is accused of murdering his wife. Clare, of course, uncovers information leading to the real killer. This series is filled with page turners, and it’s best to begin with the first one, In the Bleak Midwinter. 

One of our book club members emailed me and suggested we begin again with a “Zoom” book club meeting. It sounds like fun, so let me know if you’re interested and we’ll get together with the details.

Happy reading! We’ll look for you in the library or a curbside.

Helen Thompson, Director - Mount Pleasant Library

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in LIBRARY CORNER

Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/12/21 |

Posted on: May 12, 2021
Check out Area of Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 0507/21 |

Posted on: May 7, 2021
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/30/21 |

Posted on: April 30, 2021
Interior Library Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/21 |

Posted on: April 23, 2021
DVD Display Table at the Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/16/21 |

Posted on: April 16, 2021
Spanish Books On Shelf At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/02/21 |

Posted on: April 2, 2021
AnimalBannerInsideLibrary

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/26/21 |

Posted on: March 26, 2021
Garden At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/12/21 |

Posted on: March 12, 2021
Childrens Library Books on Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/26/21 |

Posted on: February 26, 2021
Library Books

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/12/21 |

Posted on: February 12, 2021
Fiction Shelves In Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/04/21 |

Posted on: February 4, 2021
Books On Library Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/29/21 |

Posted on: January 29, 2021
Library Interior

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/22/21 |

Posted on: January 22, 2021
DVDs On a Shelf at the Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/08/21 |

Posted on: January 8, 2021
Christmas Decor

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/18/20 |

Posted on: December 18, 2020
Christmas Scenes Painted On Library Windows

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/11/20 |

Posted on: December 11, 2020
Christmas Tree In Library Foyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/05/20 |

Posted on: December 5, 2020
Library Books On Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/23/20 |

Posted on: November 23, 2020
Fall Ragdoll decoration at the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/06/20 |

Posted on: November 6, 2020
Fall decoration of dolls in a wagon

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/09/20 |

Posted on: October 9, 2020
Orange Fall Leaves

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/02/20 |

Posted on: October 2, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/18/20 |

Posted on: September 18, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/11/20 |

Posted on: September 11, 2020
School Bus Outside Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/04/20 |

Posted on: September 4, 2020
An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/26/20 |

Posted on: August 28, 2020
Knockout Roses along the side of the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/22/20 |

Posted on: August 22, 2020
Mount Pleasant Seal at Public Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/14/20 |

Posted on: August 14, 2020
Man Reading A Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/07/20 |

Posted on: August 7, 2020
Stack of Books with Reading Glasses on top

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/31/20 |

Posted on: July 31, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 24, 2020
Signage for Story Walk in Caldwell Park

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 20, 2020
Statue of Children Reading with Masks On

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/04/20 |

Posted on: July 3, 2020
Story Time at Caldwell Park - Lady reading to children

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/26/20 |

Posted on: June 26, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/19/20 |

Posted on: June 19, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/12/20 |

Posted on: June 12, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/05/20 |

Posted on: June 5, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/29/20 |

Posted on: May 29, 2020
Library Summer Fun

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/22/20 |

Posted on: May 22, 2020
Toy Trains At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/15/20 |

Posted on: May 15, 2020
An inflatable clown greets customers to the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/08/20 |

Posted on: May 8, 2020
Curbside pickup from the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/01/20 |

Posted on: May 1, 2020
A couple in a car collecting library books curbside.

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/20 |

Posted on: April 23, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/17/20 |

Posted on: April 17, 2020
Art In The Library Event Thumbnail

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/09/20 |

Posted on: April 9, 2020