News Flash

LIBRARY CORNER

Posted on: February 26, 2021

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/26/21 |

Childrens Library Books on Shelves

ENJOYING WARMER TEMPERATURES AND GOOD BOOKS


It’s so good to be back! The snow was beautiful, but we’re loving the sunshine and nice, warm temperatures. Hopefully, things are returning to some kind of normal at your house.

The new Library Reads list was waiting for us. Their number one pick for March is The Lost Apothecary by Sarah Penner. “Caroline travels alone to London after discovering her husband’s betrayal. While mudlarking along the Thames, she finds a small glass vial. Inspired to research its origins, Caroline uncovers a dark tale of poison and murder in the 1700s, where an apothecary owner with a unique talent, a dark past, and a keen sense of revenge meets a young girl with a curiosity that might lead her astray. This is a stellar debut that balances two intriguing storylines and three wonderful characters to create one page-turning story. This one’s for fans of The Clockmaker’s Daughter, Once Upon a River, and The Essex Serpent.”  (3-2) Sharon Layburn

In The Conductors by Nicole Glover, “Hetty and Benjy meet as Underground Railroad conductors, settling in Pennsylvania where they’re known for their celestial magic. Glover does an incredible job of world building in this supernatural mystery. Her cast is almost exclusively Black, and the characters are rich, with Hetty and Benjy’s relationship showcased as a lovely progression of romantic ideals.” (3-2) Rachel Reddick

The Dating Plan is by Sara Desai. “Daisy is shocked when she runs into Liam, who stood her up at her high school prom. To save her employer and Liam’s family legacy, they must fake an engagement and marriage and not fall in love. This is a whirlwind of a romcom with South Asian American and Irish American families providing background drama and entertainment. Daisy and Liam are lovably imperfect in this quick escapist read. Give to readers who liked Take a Hint, Dani Brown and The Right Swipe.” (3-16) Laura Bonds

Popular author, Lisa Scottoline, brings us Eternal. “Set in Italy during the Fascist regime and subsequent Nazi involvement, this historical fiction, a departure for the author, is a solid dose of history told through the lives and loves of characters personally affected by the politics. The impact of decisions and the efforts of individuals to change the course of their country and their lives are vividly portrayed. This is perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale.” (3-23) Carol Tuttle

Alex Finlay’s new book is Every Last Fear. “This tightly plotted thriller changes perspective and travels through time to explore a family torn apart by tragedy. The arrest of the oldest Pine son for his girlfriend’s murder rocked their small town, was the subject of a high profile true crime documentary, and is followed years later by an even greater tragedy, Could these events be connected? Who is really the murderer? This is a gripping novel for fans of Mary Kubic or Peter Swanson.” (3-2) Maggie Thomann

After reading 16 Inspector Gamache novels, I really did try to stay away from another series. Then along comes a snowstorm and I’m knee deep into All Mortal Flesh, number five in the Clare Fergusson series by Julia Spencer-Fleming. Clare is a former army helicopter pilot and is now an Episcopal priest. Chief of Police Russ Van Alstein befriends the new priest, becomes her best friend and love interest. The only problem is that he’s married. Clare and Russ are thrown together in each installment with circumstances surrounding a murder. Each title is from a hymn and there are currently nine books. Like most good continuing stories, it’s best to read these in order. The first five are In the Bleak Midwinter, A Fountain Filled with Blood, Out of the Deep I Cry, To Darkness and to Death, and All Mortal Flesh

We hope to see you soon in the library. Happy reading!

Helen Thompson, Director - Mount Pleasant Library

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in LIBRARY CORNER

Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/12/21 |

Posted on: May 12, 2021
Check out Area of Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 0507/21 |

Posted on: May 7, 2021
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/30/21 |

Posted on: April 30, 2021
Interior Library Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/21 |

Posted on: April 23, 2021
DVD Display Table at the Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/16/21 |

Posted on: April 16, 2021
Spanish Books On Shelf At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/02/21 |

Posted on: April 2, 2021
AnimalBannerInsideLibrary

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/26/21 |

Posted on: March 26, 2021
Garden At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/12/21 |

Posted on: March 12, 2021
Magazines On Shelf In Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/04/21 |

Posted on: March 4, 2021
Library Books

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/12/21 |

Posted on: February 12, 2021
Fiction Shelves In Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/04/21 |

Posted on: February 4, 2021
Books On Library Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/29/21 |

Posted on: January 29, 2021
Library Interior

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/22/21 |

Posted on: January 22, 2021
DVDs On a Shelf at the Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/08/21 |

Posted on: January 8, 2021
Christmas Decor

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/18/20 |

Posted on: December 18, 2020
Christmas Scenes Painted On Library Windows

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/11/20 |

Posted on: December 11, 2020
Christmas Tree In Library Foyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/05/20 |

Posted on: December 5, 2020
Library Books On Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/23/20 |

Posted on: November 23, 2020
Fall Ragdoll decoration at the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/06/20 |

Posted on: November 6, 2020
Fall decoration of dolls in a wagon

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/09/20 |

Posted on: October 9, 2020
Orange Fall Leaves

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/02/20 |

Posted on: October 2, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/18/20 |

Posted on: September 18, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/11/20 |

Posted on: September 11, 2020
School Bus Outside Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/04/20 |

Posted on: September 4, 2020
An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/26/20 |

Posted on: August 28, 2020
Knockout Roses along the side of the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/22/20 |

Posted on: August 22, 2020
Mount Pleasant Seal at Public Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/14/20 |

Posted on: August 14, 2020
Man Reading A Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/07/20 |

Posted on: August 7, 2020
Stack of Books with Reading Glasses on top

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/31/20 |

Posted on: July 31, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 24, 2020
Signage for Story Walk in Caldwell Park

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 20, 2020
Statue of Children Reading with Masks On

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/04/20 |

Posted on: July 3, 2020
Story Time at Caldwell Park - Lady reading to children

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/26/20 |

Posted on: June 26, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/19/20 |

Posted on: June 19, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/12/20 |

Posted on: June 12, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/05/20 |

Posted on: June 5, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/29/20 |

Posted on: May 29, 2020
Library Summer Fun

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/22/20 |

Posted on: May 22, 2020
Toy Trains At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/15/20 |

Posted on: May 15, 2020
An inflatable clown greets customers to the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/08/20 |

Posted on: May 8, 2020
Curbside pickup from the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/01/20 |

Posted on: May 1, 2020
A couple in a car collecting library books curbside.

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/20 |

Posted on: April 23, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/17/20 |

Posted on: April 17, 2020
Art In The Library Event Thumbnail

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/09/20 |

Posted on: April 9, 2020