News Flash

LIBRARY CORNER

Posted on: January 8, 2021

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/08/21 |

DVDs On a Shelf at the Library

GREAT BOOKS AND MOVIES TO START 2021


Hello, 2021! While we don’t expect someone to wave a magic wand, we’re all hoping for a healthier new year. We’re looking forward to resuming extended hours and programs as soon as we can. 

That said, there are still great books to read, good movies to watch and good books to listen to. Visit us in the library or call us for curbside service.

The holidays interrupted our January Library Reads list, but here are the remainder of their recommendations. The Perfect Guests by Emma Rous made the list. “When down-on-her-luck Sadie is offered a lucrative weekend acting job at sumptuous Raven Hall, as a guest in a period mystery event, she jumps at the chance. Before the weekend is over, Sadie and the other ‘perfect guests’ will learn about Raven Hall’s tragic past and see how it affects them. This one will remind you of Ruth Ware’s The Death of Mrs. Westaway.” (1-12) Cynthia Hunt

The Push is by Ashley Audrain. “Blythe comes from a long line of women not cut out to be mothers. When she falls in love with a man who wants nothing more than a happy family, she tells herself she can be a good mother. When her daughter is born, however, she finds that motherhood is just not that simple. This is for readers who enjoyed The Woman in the Window or Baby Teeth.” (1-5) Linda Quinn

For science fiction fans there’s Remote Control by Nnedi Okorafor. “As a girl living in a future version of Ghana, Yatia was given an object from space that gave her the ability to emit a green light that brings death to all she touches. Now, as a young teen, she occasionally leaves death behind her as she searches for the alien object what was stolen from her. Futurism, sci-fi, and magic, this book is for readers who enjoyed The Fifth Season and Monstress” (1-19) Katie Kalil

In Shipped by Angie Hockman, “Graeme and Henley are competing for the same job at their adventure cruise company. When their boss sends them on a familiarization trip of the company’s cruise in the Galapagos, the enemies-to-lovers’ plot gets steamy. This is for readers who liked A Sweet Mess and The Unhoneymooners.” (1-19) Laura Bonds

Siri, Who Am I? is the new novel by Sam Tschida. “Mia awakens in a hospital in a gold cocktail dress, a cape covered in her blood, a head wound, her cell phone, and no memory of who she is or how she got there. She uses her Instagram account to begin to piece together her life. If you enjoyed Surprise Me and What Alice Forgot, then this one’s for you.” (1-12) Douglas Beatty

I just began All the Devil’s are Here, number 16 in the Inspector Gamache series by Louise Penny. I’m already dreading the end, because I’m not quite ready to give up these books and wait until number 17 comes out. This one’s set in Paris where Armand and Ren-Marie have gone to visit their children and grandchildren. Armand’s godfather is left for dead in a hit-and-run and, of course, Armand and Jean Guy work together to track down the people behind this attack. Along the way, Armand learns more and more about his godfather’s past. Like the others in this series, I’m sure there will be twists and turns and I’ll have to leave it to Armand Gamache to solve the case and explain it to me. 

Happy New Year and happy reading!

Helen Thompson, Director - Mount Pleasant Library

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in LIBRARY CORNER

Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/23/21 |

Posted on: July 23, 2021
LibraryGardenBenches

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/16/21 |

Posted on: July 16, 2021
School Bus Outside Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/02/21 |

Posted on: July 2, 2021
Knockout Roses along the side of the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/25/21 |

Posted on: June 25, 2021
An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/18/21 |

Posted on: June 18, 2021
An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/04/21 |

Posted on: June 4, 2021
DVDs On a Shelf at the Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/28/21 |

Posted on: May 28, 2021
Library Summer Fun

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/21/21 |

Posted on: May 21, 2021
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/12/21 |

Posted on: May 12, 2021
Check out Area of Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 0507/21 |

Posted on: May 7, 2021
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/30/21 |

Posted on: April 30, 2021
Interior Library Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/21 |

Posted on: April 23, 2021
DVD Display Table at the Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/16/21 |

Posted on: April 16, 2021
Spanish Books On Shelf At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/02/21 |

Posted on: April 2, 2021
AnimalBannerInsideLibrary

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/26/21 |

Posted on: March 26, 2021
Garden At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/12/21 |

Posted on: March 12, 2021
Magazines On Shelf In Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/04/21 |

Posted on: March 4, 2021
Childrens Library Books on Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/26/21 |

Posted on: February 26, 2021
Library Books

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/12/21 |

Posted on: February 12, 2021
Fiction Shelves In Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/04/21 |

Posted on: February 4, 2021
Books On Library Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/29/21 |

Posted on: January 29, 2021
Library Interior

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/22/21 |

Posted on: January 22, 2021
Christmas Decor

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/18/20 |

Posted on: December 18, 2020
Christmas Scenes Painted On Library Windows

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/11/20 |

Posted on: December 11, 2020
Christmas Tree In Library Foyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/05/20 |

Posted on: December 5, 2020
Library Books On Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/23/20 |

Posted on: November 23, 2020
Fall Ragdoll decoration at the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/06/20 |

Posted on: November 6, 2020
Fall decoration of dolls in a wagon

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/09/20 |

Posted on: October 9, 2020
Orange Fall Leaves

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/02/20 |

Posted on: October 2, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/18/20 |

Posted on: September 18, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/11/20 |

Posted on: September 11, 2020
School Bus Outside Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/04/20 |

Posted on: September 4, 2020
An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/26/20 |

Posted on: August 28, 2020
Knockout Roses along the side of the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/22/20 |

Posted on: August 22, 2020
Mount Pleasant Seal at Public Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/14/20 |

Posted on: August 14, 2020
Man Reading A Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/07/20 |

Posted on: August 7, 2020
Stack of Books with Reading Glasses on top

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/31/20 |

Posted on: July 31, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 24, 2020
Signage for Story Walk in Caldwell Park

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 20, 2020
Statue of Children Reading with Masks On

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/04/20 |

Posted on: July 3, 2020
Story Time at Caldwell Park - Lady reading to children

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/26/20 |

Posted on: June 26, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/19/20 |

Posted on: June 19, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/12/20 |

Posted on: June 12, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/05/20 |

Posted on: June 5, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/29/20 |

Posted on: May 29, 2020
Library Summer Fun

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/22/20 |

Posted on: May 22, 2020
Toy Trains At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/15/20 |

Posted on: May 15, 2020
An inflatable clown greets customers to the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/08/20 |

Posted on: May 8, 2020
Curbside pickup from the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/01/20 |

Posted on: May 1, 2020
A couple in a car collecting library books curbside.

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/20 |

Posted on: April 23, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/17/20 |

Posted on: April 17, 2020
Art In The Library Event Thumbnail

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/09/20 |

Posted on: April 9, 2020