News Flash

LIBRARY CORNER

Posted on: November 6, 2020

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/06/20 |

Fall Ragdoll decoration at the library

PICK UP SOMETHING GREAT TO READ...


Once again, I am late to the party. For several years I’ve been reading reviews on Louise Penny’s Inspector Gamache books. The reviews have been so good that this is a series I’ve recommended again and again. It’s a series I kept intending to read. So, about three weeks ago, I picked up Still Life and began a marathon. Today I’m in the middle of Bury Your Dead, number six in the series. These books aren’t good, they are fabulous. They are all solid murder mysteries, but more than that, they are beautifully written. My husband was trapped in the hospital for almost a week and he heard snippets from several books. I couldn’t stop saying, “Listen to this.” If you haven’t read these books, please start with Still Life and you’ll be hooked. We have them on Kindles, on CDs and in Hardback. 

The top book on November’s Library Reads List is Miss Benson’s Beetle by Rachel Joyce. You may have read Joyce’s other popular book, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry. “Two very different women set off on a journey to New Caledonia to find a Golden Beetle, and discover so much more. This is a story of friendship and of women breaking out of what is expected and being who they really are. By turns humorous, heartbreaking, and triumphant, you’ll find yourself cheering for Miss Benson. This will appeal to fans of Fredrik Backman, Elizabeth Berg, and Gail Honeyman.” (11-3) Janine Walsh

Also already out this month is White Ivy by Susie Yang. “In this coming of age immigration story, Ivy, is obsessed with her privileged classmate and will do anything to win his love. If you enjoyed You and Gone Girl, you’ll like this one.” (11-3) Joann Im

This Time Next Year We’ll Be Laughing is by Jacqueline Winspear. “The author of the beloved Maisie Dobbs novels shares both madcap and poignant stories of her nuclear and extended family, giving insight into the humor and hardships that shaped her imagination and work. This is for readers who enjoyed Where the Past Begins: A Writer’s Memoir and How to Write an Autobiographical Novel.” (11-10) Joy Robinson

Murder in Old Bombay by Nev March sounds like a good one. “James Agnihotri has recovered from a war injury when he reads about the ‘suicide’ of two ladies. His first interview as a new journalist is with the husband of one of the women, who wants to know who murdered his wife and sister. Jim follows clues, interviews observers of the tragedy, and travels through India. This is for you if you like intrigue, other cultures, and romance, or if you are a fan of Kate Atkinson and Laurie R. King.” (11-10) Gail Christensen

Italy is a great background for Lori Nelson Spielman’s The Star-Crossed Sisters of Tuscany. “Emilia is a devoted daughter, the second daughter in her family, and second daughters are cursed to never marry. Aunt Poppy, another second daughter, invites her on a trip to Italy promising to break the curse. This is for readers who enjoyed The Old Drift and It’s Not All Down Hill From Here.” (11-17) Chris Markley

We welcome the cooler weather and hope you find time to curl up with a hot cup of tea or cocoa and enjoy a good book. Remember, our current hours are 9-6 Monday through Friday. Drop by or drive through and pick up something great to read. Happy reading!

Helen Thompson, Director - Mount Pleasant Library

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in LIBRARY CORNER

Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/12/21 |

Posted on: May 12, 2021
Check out Area of Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 0507/21 |

Posted on: May 7, 2021
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/30/21 |

Posted on: April 30, 2021
Interior Library Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/21 |

Posted on: April 23, 2021
DVD Display Table at the Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/16/21 |

Posted on: April 16, 2021
Spanish Books On Shelf At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/02/21 |

Posted on: April 2, 2021
AnimalBannerInsideLibrary

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/26/21 |

Posted on: March 26, 2021
Garden At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/12/21 |

Posted on: March 12, 2021
Magazines On Shelf In Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 03/04/21 |

Posted on: March 4, 2021
Childrens Library Books on Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/26/21 |

Posted on: February 26, 2021
Library Books

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/12/21 |

Posted on: February 12, 2021
Fiction Shelves In Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 02/04/21 |

Posted on: February 4, 2021
Books On Library Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/29/21 |

Posted on: January 29, 2021
Library Interior

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/22/21 |

Posted on: January 22, 2021
DVDs On a Shelf at the Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 01/08/21 |

Posted on: January 8, 2021
Christmas Decor

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/18/20 |

Posted on: December 18, 2020
Christmas Scenes Painted On Library Windows

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/11/20 |

Posted on: December 11, 2020
Christmas Tree In Library Foyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/05/20 |

Posted on: December 5, 2020
Library Books On Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/23/20 |

Posted on: November 23, 2020
Fall decoration of dolls in a wagon

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/09/20 |

Posted on: October 9, 2020
Orange Fall Leaves

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/02/20 |

Posted on: October 2, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/18/20 |

Posted on: September 18, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/11/20 |

Posted on: September 11, 2020
School Bus Outside Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/04/20 |

Posted on: September 4, 2020
An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/26/20 |

Posted on: August 28, 2020
Knockout Roses along the side of the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/22/20 |

Posted on: August 22, 2020
Mount Pleasant Seal at Public Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/14/20 |

Posted on: August 14, 2020
Man Reading A Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/07/20 |

Posted on: August 7, 2020
Stack of Books with Reading Glasses on top

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/31/20 |

Posted on: July 31, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 24, 2020
Signage for Story Walk in Caldwell Park

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 20, 2020
Statue of Children Reading with Masks On

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/04/20 |

Posted on: July 3, 2020
Story Time at Caldwell Park - Lady reading to children

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/26/20 |

Posted on: June 26, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/19/20 |

Posted on: June 19, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/12/20 |

Posted on: June 12, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/05/20 |

Posted on: June 5, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/29/20 |

Posted on: May 29, 2020
Library Summer Fun

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/22/20 |

Posted on: May 22, 2020
Toy Trains At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/15/20 |

Posted on: May 15, 2020
An inflatable clown greets customers to the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/08/20 |

Posted on: May 8, 2020
Curbside pickup from the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/01/20 |

Posted on: May 1, 2020
A couple in a car collecting library books curbside.

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/20 |

Posted on: April 23, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/17/20 |

Posted on: April 17, 2020
Art In The Library Event Thumbnail

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/09/20 |

Posted on: April 9, 2020