News Flash

LIBRARY CORNER

Posted on: August 28, 2020

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/26/20 |

An Open Book

RETHINKING DECISIONS, HOPE AND A GOOD MYSTERY


Why is the first sentence in any writing project the hardest to write? It was so easy when I could begin with an activity calendar for the next week. It’s not as easy now. Like everyone else, we are still looking forward to getting back to something like normal.

If you’ve been in the library, you stopped by the table at the door and had your temperature checked. We work shifts there and the one good thing about working out there is that it gives you a bit of reading time. Everywhere else we’re too busy to read anything. In the past couple of weeks I’ve read three good books.

Many of you are familiar with Susan Wiggs. Her newest book is The Lost and Found Book Shop. It was good. Natalie grew up in her mother’s book shop. They struggled financially and she was determined to live a life that provided more money and security. She became successful working in a high-stress job. When a family emergency calls her home, she begins to rethink her decisions. This is a sweet book.

Then last week I read The Oysterville Sewing Circle and loved it. Caroline Shelby has survived tragedy in her New York City fashion design job. Her best friend is dead and Caroline takes responsibility for her friend’s children. She takes them to Oysterville, Washington, her hometown. This story is full of hope and new beginnings. It’s definitely a “feel good” read.

This week I found a series we’ve had in the library for quite some time. It’s the Timber Creek K-9 Mystery series and the first one is Killing Trail. Mattie Cobb has trained with Robo, her new canine partner and is on the job in Timber Creek, Colorado. Robo discovers the body of a local teenage girl and he and Mattie are drawn into a murder mystery that involves people Mattie knew growing up. Margaret Mizushima has set up good characters with interesting back stories. I’m looking forward to reading Stalking Ground, number two in the series. We currently have one through five in the library.

Back to the Library Reads List. Jim Butcher’s new book is Battle Ground. “Battle Ground has more at stake than any previous book in the Dresden Files series, and more changes for Harry. Filled to the brim with non-stop action, this entry has Harry and almost every supernatural being he knows coming to defend Chicago from a mad Titan bent on reshaping reality. This one’s for fans of the Mercy Thompson series and The Iron Druid Chronicles.” (9-29) Dan Brooks

In the Midnight Library by Matt Hair, “Nora visits a unique library. Every book she chooses is one that she becomes part of and is a possible life she might have led. There are adventures, close calls, and joy. Give this totally engrossing page turner to fans of Here and Now and Then and Life after Life.” (9-29) Deborah Margeson

Sue Miller’s latest is Monogamy. “Annie and Graham have been married for 30 years. When Graham unexpectedly dies, Annie finds out he had a recent affair. As she reevaluates her relationship and deals with feelings of anger and betrayal, a few secrets in her own past are revealed. This story of grief, sadness, and acceptance is perfect for fans of Hausfrau and Unsheltered.” (9-8) Laura Fowler

In Susan Clarke’s Piranese, “Piranesi is the sole inhabitant of a mysterious ‘house’ with endless rooms full of statues and a surging ocean below. With lyrical and hypnotic writing in his journal, he guides readers through his beloved labyrinth home and introduces ‘The Other,’ a sporadic visitor and the only other living human being. . .or so he thought. For fans of The Starless Sea and The Bedlam Stacks.” (-15) Catherine Tarver

A Rogue of One’s Own by Evie Dunmore is “the second book in the League of Extraordinary Women series. It revolves around Lady Lucie and her old nemesis Lord Ballentine. Their love/hate relationship is passionate and steamy. This is for fans of The Royal Wedding series and Dukes Behaving Badly series.” (9-1) Natalie Peitsinovski

Two new nonfiction books are on the bestseller list, including Finding Freedom by Omid Scobie. It’s the story of the Duke and Duchess of Sussex’s journey from courtship to their decision to step away from their royal lives. Evil Geniuses by Kurt Andersen looks at the economic, cultural and political forces to which he ascribes the undermining and dismantling of the American middle class.

Bestselling new fiction this week includes A Private Cathedral by James Lee Burke. In this 23rd book in the Dave Robicheaux series, rival Louisiana crime families and a time-traveling superhuman assassin bring up Robicheaux’s personal demons. Also new this week is Choppy Water by Stuart Woods. Things get rough for Stone as he goes after criminals in New York City and Key West. This is number 54 in the Stone Barrington series.

We’re open Monday through Friday from 9-6. Drop by or call us and we’ll deliver your books, CDs and DVDs to you curbside at noon and 5 p.m. Happy reading!

Helen Thompson, Director - Mount Pleasant Library

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in LIBRARY CORNER

Christmas Tree In Library Foyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/05/20 |

Posted on: December 5, 2020
Library Books On Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/23/20 |

Posted on: November 23, 2020
Fall Ragdoll decoration at the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/06/20 |

Posted on: November 6, 2020
Fall decoration of dolls in a wagon

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/09/20 |

Posted on: October 9, 2020
Orange Fall Leaves

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/02/20 |

Posted on: October 2, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/18/20 |

Posted on: September 18, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/11/20 |

Posted on: September 11, 2020
School Bus Outside Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/04/20 |

Posted on: September 4, 2020
Knockout Roses along the side of the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/22/20 |

Posted on: August 22, 2020
Mount Pleasant Seal at Public Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/14/20 |

Posted on: August 14, 2020
Man Reading A Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/07/20 |

Posted on: August 7, 2020
Stack of Books with Reading Glasses on top

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/31/20 |

Posted on: July 31, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 24, 2020
Signage for Story Walk in Caldwell Park

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 20, 2020
Statue of Children Reading with Masks On

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/04/20 |

Posted on: July 3, 2020
Story Time at Caldwell Park - Lady reading to children

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/26/20 |

Posted on: June 26, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/19/20 |

Posted on: June 19, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/12/20 |

Posted on: June 12, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/05/20 |

Posted on: June 5, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/29/20 |

Posted on: May 29, 2020
Library Summer Fun

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/22/20 |

Posted on: May 22, 2020
Toy Trains At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/15/20 |

Posted on: May 15, 2020
An inflatable clown greets customers to the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/08/20 |

Posted on: May 8, 2020
Curbside pickup from the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/01/20 |

Posted on: May 1, 2020
A couple in a car collecting library books curbside.

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/20 |

Posted on: April 23, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/17/20 |

Posted on: April 17, 2020
Art In The Library Event Thumbnail

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/09/20 |

Posted on: April 9, 2020