News Flash

LIBRARY CORNER

Posted on: July 31, 2020

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/31/20 |

Stack of Books with Reading Glasses on top

CURL UP IN A COOL PLACE AND READ A BOOK


Every winter I forget what Texas summers are like. Every July I’m reminded just how hot it gets. Hope you’re finding a cool place to read good books.

Speaking of good books, there are four new books on this week’s bestseller list:

  • Ace by Jim Butcher is number 16 in the Dresden Files series. Chicago’s only professional wizard tries to keep the peace during a summit of the Supernatural nations of the world.
  • The Order by Daniel Silva is the 20th book in the Gabriel Allon series. The art restorer and spy cuts his family’s vacation short to investigate whether Pope Paul VII was murdered.
  • Utopia Avenue by David Mitchell explores the glories and misadventures of a 1960s British band told from the several perspectives with cameos by real-life musicians.
  • A Walk Along the Beach is Debbie Macomber’s newest. After dealing with loss and setbacks, two sisters take risks on dreams and love.

No Offense by Meg Cabot is one of the August Library Reads recommendations. “In the second book in the Little Bridge Island series, we meet Molly, a children’s librarian who is new to the island, and John, the newly installed island sheriff. Their lives become intertwined when Molly finds a newborn baby in the library bathroom and the two work together to find the mother. This one’s for readers who enjoyed It’s In His Kiss by Jill Shalvis and The Best Man by Kristan Higgins.” (8-11) Laura Hanson

Harrow the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir is a “follow-up to Gideon the Ninth and is a fantastic gothic mystery, peopled with aristocrats vying to be the Undying Emperor’s new Lyctor. Muir switches up the POV, and because Harrow’s body and mind are failing her, she’s an unreliable narrator. The story moves around in time, so when events from the first book are revisited, the perspective changes. And there’s still that looming, unwinnable battle. This is a rare and beautiful gem for fans of The City We Became and Dune.” (8-4) Laura Eckert

In Carl Hiaasen’s Squeeze Me, “Angie runs her own business, Discreet Captures, in Palm Beach, where she traps and relocates wildlife. She receives a call from the caretaker of a local estate about a giant python and manages to remove the snake without offending party guests. But what happened to Kiki Pew, the wealthy hostess who seems to have vanished from the event? This is for fans of satirical thrillers and Florida.” (8-25) Linda Tilden

The Switch is by Beth O’Leary. “Finding herself with a two-week sabbatical from work, Leeana and her grandmother Eileen decide to switch homes or the duration. In London, Eileen starts an affair and builds friendships across generations. In a Yorkshire village, Leanna learns how her grandmother is the center of village activity and takes on all of Eileen’s projects. This is for fans of Evie Drake Starts Over and The Love Story of Missy Charmichael.” (8-18) Paula Pergament

Two authors from the Library Reads Hall of Fame have new books. Ilona Andrews’ new book is Emerald Blaze. “While investigating a murder, Texas deputy warden Catalina Baylor must again work with handsome Alessandro Sagredo, a fellow mage who’ll do anything to keep her safe. This is another urban home run for Andrews—the leads are perfect together and the world-building is phenomenal.” (8-25) Caroline Quintanilla

The other Hall of Famer is Fiona Davis with The Lions of Fifth Avenue. This is “a glimpse into women’s lies in 1913 and 1993, with the narrative centering on the New York Public Library. Davis always places female characters from the past and present in an iconic New York building. This book was especially wonderful as it’s a love letter to librarians.”

Hope to see you soon in the library. Happy reading!

Helen Thompson, Director Mount Pleasant Library

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in LIBRARY CORNER

Library Books On Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/23/20 |

Posted on: November 23, 2020
Fall Ragdoll decoration at the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/06/20 |

Posted on: November 6, 2020
Fall decoration of dolls in a wagon

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/09/20 |

Posted on: October 9, 2020
Orange Fall Leaves

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/02/20 |

Posted on: October 2, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/18/20 |

Posted on: September 18, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/11/20 |

Posted on: September 11, 2020
School Bus Outside Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/04/20 |

Posted on: September 4, 2020
An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/26/20 |

Posted on: August 28, 2020
Knockout Roses along the side of the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/22/20 |

Posted on: August 22, 2020
Mount Pleasant Seal at Public Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/14/20 |

Posted on: August 14, 2020
Man Reading A Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/07/20 |

Posted on: August 7, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 24, 2020
Signage for Story Walk in Caldwell Park

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 20, 2020
Statue of Children Reading with Masks On

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/04/20 |

Posted on: July 3, 2020
Story Time at Caldwell Park - Lady reading to children

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/26/20 |

Posted on: June 26, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/19/20 |

Posted on: June 19, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/12/20 |

Posted on: June 12, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/05/20 |

Posted on: June 5, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/29/20 |

Posted on: May 29, 2020
Library Summer Fun

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/22/20 |

Posted on: May 22, 2020
Toy Trains At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/15/20 |

Posted on: May 15, 2020
An inflatable clown greets customers to the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/08/20 |

Posted on: May 8, 2020
Curbside pickup from the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/01/20 |

Posted on: May 1, 2020
A couple in a car collecting library books curbside.

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/20 |

Posted on: April 23, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/17/20 |

Posted on: April 17, 2020
Art In The Library Event Thumbnail

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/09/20 |

Posted on: April 9, 2020