News Flash

LIBRARY CORNER

Posted on: July 24, 2020

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

GRAB AND GO BAGS STILL AVAILABLE...


Story Time in Caldwell Park continues throughout the summer Tuesdays at 11 a.m. We’re seeing that a lot of our “littles” are taking advantage of the splash pad after Story Time. While you’re there, take the kids down the Story Walk and read to them.

We still have Grab and Go bags for kids to pick up in the library. Drop in, check out something great to read and get an activity bag to take home.

The Library Reads list arrived this week. All of the titles mentioned here will come out in August. Note the date at the end of the description. That’s when it will be published.

The top pick for the August is You Had Me at Hola by Alexis Daria. “This romance by a RITA award-winning writer is a sizzling hot and fun ode to soap operas. Jasmine, a soap opera actor, and Ashton, a telenovela actor, have been cast on a popular TV show that catapults each of them to stardom. They quickly give in to temptation and indulge in a torrid affair that means more to them than either wants to admit. When the paparazzi expose a shocking secret, Jasmine is forced to reevaluate the trust she put in Ashton, and he must come to grips with his traumatic past. Firmly rooted in Latin culture, this novel covers issues of language, colorism, and identity while also managing to be upbeat, entertaining, and super steamy. This is recommended for fans of Take a Hint, Dani Brown, Something to Talk About, and Not the Girl You Marry.” (8-4) Migdali Jimenez

Caste: The Origins of Our Discontents by Isabel Wilkerson is “a magisterial overview of how caste has been implemented in three different places.

This is an important look a how the US, Nazi Germany, and India implemented caste and how it affects each country. Don’t think that this is a dry academic read; Wilkerson is a genius with words and incorporates her own experiences throughout the book. This is for reads of Stamped and The New Jim Crow.” (8-4) Jennifer Schultz

Christina Baker Kline’s latest is The Exiles. “In her extremely readable fashion, Kline has created another masterpiece of historical fiction. This time she takes readers on a journey from England to Australia, where prisoners were exiled in the 19th century. The riveting story becomes personal as Kline engages readers in the individual stories of the enslaved women. This is perfect for book groups and fans of Lisa Wingate and Kristin Hannah.” (8-25) Marilyn Sieb

In The Night Swim by Megan Goldin, “the author has expertly woven the stories of two crimes that occurred in a small town 25 years apart. Rachel, an investigative podcast reporter, is covering the trial of a young man accused of the latest crime. While there, she is pulled into the past by the earlier victim’s sister, Hannah, who has been haunted by it for a very long time. This one’s for fans of Then She Was Gone and Sometimes I Lie.” (8-4) Debbie Lease

Karin Slaughter’s The Silent Wife is “a brilliantly conceived story about a psychopath who preys on young women and a chance encounter that turns up a connection to another series of unsolved murders. This is a fast paced and suspenseful thriller for fans of the Kick Lannigan series. “ (8-4) Paul Lane

Vanessa Yu’s Magical Paris Tea Shop by Roselie Lim looks like fun. “Vanessa is an accountant with the power of clairvoyance. She travels to a tea shop in Paris to learn to control her predictions with the help of her aunt Evelyn. There, she finds a new purpose by connecting the people around her and just might find true love for herself. Sweet, romantic and cozy, this one’s for fans of Number One Chinese Restaurant and Kitchens of the Great Midwest.” (8-4) Douglas Beatty

This past week I had a chance to read The Lost and Found Bookshop by Susan Wiggs and have mixed emotions about this book. I enjoyed the story and can’t quite put my finger on the reason I can’t give it a huge thumb’s up. One of our patrons came in and told me how much she loved the book, so you might want to give it a try.

I also had a chance to catch up with Maisie Dobbs in The American Agent. This book has been out for months, but I kept putting it off because I knew that I wouldn’t want to do anything but read once I began. That’s exactly what happened. It’s World War II and the Blitz has begun in London. Maisie is asked to investigate the murder of an American journalist. This is a top-notch mystery and I’m so invested in Maisie Dobbs that I worry about her personal life! This is Jaqueline Winspear’s best book yet, but start at the beginning with Maisie Dobbs. You’ll grow to love the characters and the stories are always great.

I can’t believe we’re knocking on August’s door. I think for all of us that time has become a blur. We’re hanging in and believing that better days are ahead. Visit us in the library or take advantage of our curbside delivery. You can email us at library@mpcity.org or call 903-575-4180. We’ll gladly get your books together and give them to you in the parking lot.

Happy reading!

Helen Thompson, Director | Mount Pleasant Library

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in LIBRARY CORNER

Christmas Tree In Library Foyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 12/05/20 |

Posted on: December 5, 2020
Library Books On Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/23/20 |

Posted on: November 23, 2020
Fall Ragdoll decoration at the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/06/20 |

Posted on: November 6, 2020
Fall decoration of dolls in a wagon

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/09/20 |

Posted on: October 9, 2020
Orange Fall Leaves

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/02/20 |

Posted on: October 2, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/18/20 |

Posted on: September 18, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/11/20 |

Posted on: September 11, 2020
School Bus Outside Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/04/20 |

Posted on: September 4, 2020
An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/26/20 |

Posted on: August 28, 2020
Knockout Roses along the side of the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/22/20 |

Posted on: August 22, 2020
Mount Pleasant Seal at Public Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/14/20 |

Posted on: August 14, 2020
Man Reading A Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/07/20 |

Posted on: August 7, 2020
Stack of Books with Reading Glasses on top

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/31/20 |

Posted on: July 31, 2020
Signage for Story Walk in Caldwell Park

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 20, 2020
Statue of Children Reading with Masks On

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/04/20 |

Posted on: July 3, 2020
Story Time at Caldwell Park - Lady reading to children

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/26/20 |

Posted on: June 26, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/19/20 |

Posted on: June 19, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/12/20 |

Posted on: June 12, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/05/20 |

Posted on: June 5, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/29/20 |

Posted on: May 29, 2020
Library Summer Fun

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/22/20 |

Posted on: May 22, 2020
Toy Trains At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/15/20 |

Posted on: May 15, 2020
An inflatable clown greets customers to the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/08/20 |

Posted on: May 8, 2020
Curbside pickup from the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/01/20 |

Posted on: May 1, 2020
A couple in a car collecting library books curbside.

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/20 |

Posted on: April 23, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/17/20 |

Posted on: April 17, 2020
Art In The Library Event Thumbnail

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/09/20 |

Posted on: April 9, 2020