News Flash

LIBRARY CORNER

Posted on: June 26, 2020

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/26/20 |

Story Time at Caldwell Park - Lady reading to children

NEW STORY WALK THIS WEEK...


While I’ll be the first to admit that summer programs have changed drastically, I’ll also be the first to tell you we still have some terrific things going on for kids. Check out Caldwell Park. A new Story Walk featuring the book, Head to Toe goes up this week. Tuesday at 11:00 a.m. Ms. Natalie will be there with Story Time for preschoolers.

Each week we have new activity sheets with craft materials to pick up in the library. This week you’ll make a Star-Spangled Craft. There’s a place on the sheet for you to write a short book review. You can turn it in to be entered into a prize drawing. Come by and get your Summer Fun #3 Sheet.

Later this summer there will be an obstacle course at Dellwood Park. Be on the lookout for that.

Adults are also asking when our book clubs will return. We’ll be back with clubs, craft nights and extended hours. We just don’t know when. Hang in there with us. All of us are looking forward to normal, and I think we’ll all appreciate it a lot more when it returns.

Back to our July Library Reads List. Remember, these books come out in July. The date at the end of each review is the date it will be available. The Only Good Indians by Stephen Graham Jones is a “horror novel that begins with four young Native American men on a hunting trip that will haunt each of them in unimaginable ways. This one is for fans of Owl Goingback’s Coyote Rage.” (7-14) Sarah Fetzer

Paul Tremblay’s new book is Survivor Song. “The gripping story opens with a rampant strain of virus (in this case rabies), followed by quarantines, lockdowns, fear, and irrational behavior. It hits alarmingly close to home. This is for fans of Severance by Ling Ma and Contagion by Robin Cook.” (7-7) Sandra Woodbury

In What You Wish For by Katherine Center, “Sam thought the dynamic Duncan Carpenter was out of her life forever, until he returns to the school at which she’s a librarian and makes her think she might just get her happily ever after. This is for fans of JoJo Moyes and Rebecca Serle.” (7-14) Tracy Babiasz

Three authors made the Hall of Fame list. The first is Josh Malerman with his book, Malorie. In this sequel to Birdbox, “It’s been several years since Malorie and her two young children arrived at The Janet Tucker School For the Blind. Olympia and Tom, now teenagers, crave to see the world. But at what cost? Malerman is a master of suspenseful terror and escalating mistrust. Unlike Birdbox, this latest installment is also filled with hope.” (7-21) KC Davis

I’m looking forward to Outsider by Linda Castillo. “Kate Burkholder comes to the aid of an old colleague who’s now on the run from her own vice unit in this slow burn crime thriller. Many series start to lose their steam when they’ve been around as long as this one, but Castillo just keeps improving with every book.” (7-7) Eve Hall

The final Hall of Fame author is JP Delaney with Playing Nice. “Two babies are switched at birth in the NICU. One has severe disabilities, the other doesn’t. Two years later, the families learn of the mistake and their lives—and lies—become more entangled. This is highly recommended for fans of psychological thrillers who are tired of typical plotlines.” (7-28) Kelly Verheyden

Just finished listening to Prisoner in the Castle by Susan Elia MacNeal. It’s a continuation of the Maggie Hope series and it’s a good one. Maggie has been imprisoned on an island in Scotland with ten other British agents. Much like the Agatha Christie novels, the characters are murdered one by one.

This is a short week for us. We close Thursday at 11 a.m. and will be back on Monday.

Happy reading and we’ll see you in the library or at curbside!

Helen Thompson, Director - Mount Pleasant Library

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in LIBRARY CORNER

Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/18/20 |

Posted on: September 18, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/11/20 |

Posted on: September 11, 2020
School Bus Outside Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/04/20 |

Posted on: September 4, 2020
An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/26/20 |

Posted on: August 28, 2020
Knockout Roses along the side of the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/22/20 |

Posted on: August 22, 2020
Mount Pleasant Seal at Public Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/14/20 |

Posted on: August 14, 2020
Man Reading A Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/07/20 |

Posted on: August 7, 2020
Stack of Books with Reading Glasses on top

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/31/20 |

Posted on: July 31, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 24, 2020
Signage for Story Walk in Caldwell Park

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 20, 2020
Statue of Children Reading with Masks On

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/04/20 |

Posted on: July 3, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/19/20 |

Posted on: June 19, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/12/20 |

Posted on: June 12, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/05/20 |

Posted on: June 5, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/29/20 |

Posted on: May 29, 2020
Library Summer Fun

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/22/20 |

Posted on: May 22, 2020
Toy Trains At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/15/20 |

Posted on: May 15, 2020
An inflatable clown greets customers to the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/08/20 |

Posted on: May 8, 2020
Curbside pickup from the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/01/20 |

Posted on: May 1, 2020
A couple in a car collecting library books curbside.

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/20 |

Posted on: April 23, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/17/20 |

Posted on: April 17, 2020
Art In The Library Event Thumbnail

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/09/20 |

Posted on: April 9, 2020