News Flash

LIBRARY CORNER

Posted on: June 19, 2020

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/19/20 |

Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

KICK OFF OF SUMMER PROGRAMS...


Grab and Go Children’s Programming kicked off this week. You can always find more information about the children’s programs on Facebook, but this year we’re making adjustments by moving our programs outside and sending crafts home. Each week Jeanette will hand out a sheet of activities you and your children can do together. Come by any time during the week and pick up the current sheet.

Story Time also resumed this past week in Caldwell Park. Preschoolers are invited to hear Ms. Natalie each Tuesday at 11 a.m. While you’re in the park, stroll through the Story Walk and read this week’s book.

The Library Reads List for just arrived. Remember, these books will come out in July. The publication dates are at the end of each short review. Their top pick for July is Jim Butcher’s Peace Talks. “Eagerly awaited by wizard Harry Dresden’s legion of fans, this 16th book in the series is definitely worth the wait. Wonderful scenes feature magical illusions, and many familiar characters return for peace talks in Chicago. Not much is peaceful for Harry, as the wizards might kick him off the White Council, faerie Queen Mab wants hm to do a couple of favors for vampire Lara, and Harry’s half-brother is in prison after an assassination attempt. This one’s for series fans of The Hollows, The Iron Druid Chronicles, and the Nightside.” (7-14) Brenda O’Brien

Crooked Hallelujah by Kelli Jo Ford is “a well-crafted story of identity, survival, and loyalty that explores the terrain of love and heartbreak, loss and displacement for four generations of Native American women across four decades. Finding their own sources of strength, these proud, fierce women magnetically draw the reader in. This is for readers who enjoy Louie Erdrich and Diane Glancy.” (7-14) Janet Schneider

The Heir Affair by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan is the sequel to The Royal We. “The story follows Nick and Bex through the first years of their marriage—a challenging time for anyone, let alone a royal couple whose wedding was disrupted by a sex scandal. As they settle into their new home, they uncover a secret that could change the future of Britain. Fans of Royal Wedding and Royals will enjoy this funny and sensitive novel.” (7-7) Heather Bistyga

The Lost and Found Bookshop by Susan Wiggs has been on my book radar for several months. “Personal tragedy turns Natalie’s life upside down and leads her back to her childhood home, including her family’s beloved homegrown bookstore. Natalie faces the decline of her grandfather’s health, a building in need of repair, and a business in the red. She also finds unexpected love. Give this one to readers who liked How to Find Love in a Bookshop and The Readers of Broken Wheel.” (7-7) Joyce Livingston

Memorial Drive by Natasha Trethewey “explores the author’s relationship with her mother, piecing together events that led up to her mother’s murder at the hands of her stepfather. This is for fans of No Visible Bruises by Rachel Louise Snyder and The Red Parts by Maggie Nelson.” (7-28) Mary Bell

One to Watch by Kate Stayman-London is a “hilarious and poignant rom-com debut. Bea Schumacher is a highly influential, body positive, heartbroken fashion blogger, who one day writes a blistering, viral blog post about the lack of diversity on her favorite reality tv dating show. This is for readers who enjoyed Bridget Jones’s Diary and Me Before You.” (7-7) Ann-Marie Anderson

Summer hours at the library are 9-6, Monday through Friday. If you aren’t comfortable coming inside the building, please call or email us a list of materials you’d like to check out. We still do curbside at noon and 5 p.m.

Happy reading and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Helen Thompson - Director | Mount Pleasant Library

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in LIBRARY CORNER

Library Books On Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/23/20 |

Posted on: November 23, 2020
Fall Ragdoll decoration at the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/06/20 |

Posted on: November 6, 2020
Fall decoration of dolls in a wagon

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/09/20 |

Posted on: October 9, 2020
Orange Fall Leaves

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/02/20 |

Posted on: October 2, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/18/20 |

Posted on: September 18, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/11/20 |

Posted on: September 11, 2020
School Bus Outside Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/04/20 |

Posted on: September 4, 2020
An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/26/20 |

Posted on: August 28, 2020
Knockout Roses along the side of the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/22/20 |

Posted on: August 22, 2020
Mount Pleasant Seal at Public Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/14/20 |

Posted on: August 14, 2020
Man Reading A Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/07/20 |

Posted on: August 7, 2020
Stack of Books with Reading Glasses on top

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/31/20 |

Posted on: July 31, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 24, 2020
Signage for Story Walk in Caldwell Park

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 20, 2020
Statue of Children Reading with Masks On

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/04/20 |

Posted on: July 3, 2020
Story Time at Caldwell Park - Lady reading to children

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/26/20 |

Posted on: June 26, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/12/20 |

Posted on: June 12, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/05/20 |

Posted on: June 5, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/29/20 |

Posted on: May 29, 2020
Library Summer Fun

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/22/20 |

Posted on: May 22, 2020
Toy Trains At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/15/20 |

Posted on: May 15, 2020
An inflatable clown greets customers to the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/08/20 |

Posted on: May 8, 2020
Curbside pickup from the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/01/20 |

Posted on: May 1, 2020
A couple in a car collecting library books curbside.

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/20 |

Posted on: April 23, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/17/20 |

Posted on: April 17, 2020
Art In The Library Event Thumbnail

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/09/20 |

Posted on: April 9, 2020