News Flash

LIBRARY CORNER

Posted on: June 5, 2020

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/05/20 |

Mount Pleasant Library Sign

WE’RE HAPPY TO SEE YOU IN THE LIBRARY


Folks are beginning to find the library again and, I’m happy to say, everyone has been understanding about the new “rules” that are in place until things move toward normal. Please continue to be patient with us. We’re still happy to see you in the library!

Our summer programs will begin June 15. Come by the library that week and grab an activity bag to take home and create some really fun things. On Tuesdays, beginning June 16, Preschool Story Time will be held at Caldwell Park. Join Miss Natalie for some summer stories.

The remaining books on the June Library Reads List include The Last Flight by Julie Clark. “Claire and Eva both have reasons for wanting to disappear, so when they happen on each other at the airport, they decide to take the other person’s flight. However, when one of the planes crashes, the danger they thought they were leaving isn’t far behind. This one’s for readers who enjoyed The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine and The Passenger by Lisa Lutz.” (6-23) Lora Brugerman

Popular author, Emily Giffen, returns with The Lies that Bind. “Cecily is fresh off a breakup and meets a ‘too good to be true’ stranger in a local dive bar. This one’s for fans of Me Before You by JoJo Moyes.” (6-2) Stephanie Hall

In Take a Hint, Dani Brown by Talia Hibbert, “Dani and Zaf have been low-key flirting forever when a gallant moment is turned into a viral video and the pressure is on for these two to become a couple. This is a fabulously fun take on a classic romance trope, the fake relationship. This is for fans of The Wedding Date and The Kiss Quotient.” (6-23) Jessica Trotter

The final book on this month’s list is The Vanishing Half by Britt Bennet. “Centering on two twin light-skinned black girls who grew up in a strange town in the Jim Crow south, this book explores racism, sexism, and familial relationships through the interweaving storylines of vivid and complicated characters. This is for fans of Red at the Bone by Jacqueline Woodson.” (6-2) Pamela Gardner

Staff reads this month include The Bird Way—A New Look at How Birds Talk, Work, Play, Parent, and Think by Jennifer Ackerman. After reading this book, you might feel that being called a “Bird Brain” isn’t really that bad.

Natalie gives Warsaw Protocol by Steve Berry a mixed review. Cotton Malone returns as a “recalled” Justice Department agent. Through twists and turns, Malone solves the mystery. This probably isn’t Berry’s best book.

Jeanette read Valentine by Elizabeth Wetmore and said that it’s a really good but “dark” story set in Odessa, Texas, in the 1970s. The oil boom is about to happen and with it comes an evil that is hard to pin down. Told by alternating points of view, the women in this book come through with great character and strength.

Jeanette just began the new book, Simon the Fiddler, by Paulette Jiles. Jiles wrote the popular News of the World, which will soon be a movie starring Tom Hanks as the Captain. The Captain travels from city to city making a living by “reading” the news aloud. If you haven’ read News of the World, check it out. It’s a good one.

Our listening librarian, Lavonne, gave a big thumb’s up to David Baldacci’s newest book, Walk the Wire. She said it will keep you guessing until the very end.

Stay safe and read a good book!

Helen Thompson | Director - Mount Pleasant Library

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in LIBRARY CORNER

Library Books On Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/23/20 |

Posted on: November 23, 2020
Fall Ragdoll decoration at the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/06/20 |

Posted on: November 6, 2020
Fall decoration of dolls in a wagon

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/09/20 |

Posted on: October 9, 2020
Orange Fall Leaves

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/02/20 |

Posted on: October 2, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/18/20 |

Posted on: September 18, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/11/20 |

Posted on: September 11, 2020
School Bus Outside Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/04/20 |

Posted on: September 4, 2020
An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/26/20 |

Posted on: August 28, 2020
Knockout Roses along the side of the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/22/20 |

Posted on: August 22, 2020
Mount Pleasant Seal at Public Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/14/20 |

Posted on: August 14, 2020
Man Reading A Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/07/20 |

Posted on: August 7, 2020
Stack of Books with Reading Glasses on top

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/31/20 |

Posted on: July 31, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 24, 2020
Signage for Story Walk in Caldwell Park

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 20, 2020
Statue of Children Reading with Masks On

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/04/20 |

Posted on: July 3, 2020
Story Time at Caldwell Park - Lady reading to children

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/26/20 |

Posted on: June 26, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/19/20 |

Posted on: June 19, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/12/20 |

Posted on: June 12, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/29/20 |

Posted on: May 29, 2020
Library Summer Fun

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/22/20 |

Posted on: May 22, 2020
Toy Trains At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/15/20 |

Posted on: May 15, 2020
An inflatable clown greets customers to the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/08/20 |

Posted on: May 8, 2020
Curbside pickup from the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/01/20 |

Posted on: May 1, 2020
A couple in a car collecting library books curbside.

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/20 |

Posted on: April 23, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/17/20 |

Posted on: April 17, 2020
Art In The Library Event Thumbnail

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/09/20 |

Posted on: April 9, 2020