News Flash

LIBRARY CORNER

Posted on: May 29, 2020

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/29/20 |

Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

A STRANGE BUT GOOD WEEK...


To put it simply, this week has been strange. Don’t get me wrong, it’s been a good week, but it’s been strange. We reopened Tuesday with new rules. We’ve taken temperatures, handed out sanitizer and offered face masks to those who didn’t have them. I’ve heard horror stories from other libraries, but each and every person who has come through our doors has been kind, understanding and cooperative. Thank you! You have all made this difficult time easier to navigate.

Books have never stopped flowing, even though they’ve gone out the back door to curbside delivery. It’s nice to see books leaving through the front door now, too. We realize that not everyone is comfortable coming inside the building and that’s not a problem. We will continue curbside as long as it is needed. Feel free to call or email us with your list.

One of the new books from Library Reads June list is The Boyfriend Project by Farrah Rochon. “In this contemporary romance, three women who were two-timed by the same man become friends. The unique, funny premise cleverly serves as a catalyst for why the women are trying to make changes in their lives. The romance is lovely and finds ways in which a couple struggles to be together. Give this to fans of Mia Sosa and Alisha Rai.” (6-9) Ann Carpenter

Max Brooks’ new book is Devolution: A Firsthand Account of the Rainier Sasquatch Massacre. “Nobody imagines the end of the world quite like Brooks! Here he takes a group of privileged idealists, sets them in a beautiful utopia where they can escape the headaches of the city but suffer none of the inconveniences, and then brutally removes all the comforts they expect to be delivered. Throw in some hungry Sasquatch and things get really interesting. This one’s for fans of Blake Crouch and Jeff VanderMeer.” (6-16) Amy Hall

The Empire of Gold by SA. Chakraborty “is a story about colonialism and cycles of trauma, giving an in-depth look at the politics and psychology of a land warred over by ethnic factions for centuries. This is highly recommended to anyone looking for an imaginative fantasy with complex characters, well developed relationships, and insightful social commentary. This one’s for readers who enjoy N.K. Jemisin and Tasha Suri.” (6-30) Tasha Suri

The Girl from Widow Hill is by Megan Miranda. “The author returns with another engrossing psychological thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat. The story is primarily told from Olivia’s unreliable perspective. News reports, book excerpts, and other media are also used to fill out the story, which keeps the plot moving. Fans of Conviction and The Other Mrs. will enjoy this one.” (6-23) Megan Coleman

In The Guest List by Lucy Foley, “A wedding celebration on a remote island off the coast of Ireland turns eerie and nightmarish in this gothic atmospheric mystery. It’s a good choice for fans of Ruth Ware.” (6-2) Bill Anderson

Happy reading! We’ll look for you in the library or at curbside!

Helen Thompson - Director | Mount Pleasant Public Library


Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in LIBRARY CORNER

Library Books On Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/23/20 |

Posted on: November 23, 2020
Fall Ragdoll decoration at the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/06/20 |

Posted on: November 6, 2020
Fall decoration of dolls in a wagon

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/09/20 |

Posted on: October 9, 2020
Orange Fall Leaves

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/02/20 |

Posted on: October 2, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/18/20 |

Posted on: September 18, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/11/20 |

Posted on: September 11, 2020
School Bus Outside Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/04/20 |

Posted on: September 4, 2020
An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/26/20 |

Posted on: August 28, 2020
Knockout Roses along the side of the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/22/20 |

Posted on: August 22, 2020
Mount Pleasant Seal at Public Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/14/20 |

Posted on: August 14, 2020
Man Reading A Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/07/20 |

Posted on: August 7, 2020
Stack of Books with Reading Glasses on top

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/31/20 |

Posted on: July 31, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 24, 2020
Signage for Story Walk in Caldwell Park

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 20, 2020
Statue of Children Reading with Masks On

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/04/20 |

Posted on: July 3, 2020
Story Time at Caldwell Park - Lady reading to children

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/26/20 |

Posted on: June 26, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/19/20 |

Posted on: June 19, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/12/20 |

Posted on: June 12, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/05/20 |

Posted on: June 5, 2020
Library Summer Fun

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/22/20 |

Posted on: May 22, 2020
Toy Trains At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/15/20 |

Posted on: May 15, 2020
An inflatable clown greets customers to the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/08/20 |

Posted on: May 8, 2020
Curbside pickup from the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/01/20 |

Posted on: May 1, 2020
A couple in a car collecting library books curbside.

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/20 |

Posted on: April 23, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/17/20 |

Posted on: April 17, 2020
Art In The Library Event Thumbnail

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/09/20 |

Posted on: April 9, 2020