News Flash

LIBRARY CORNER

Posted on: May 22, 2020

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/22/20 |

Library Summer Fun

LIBRARY TO OPEN MAY 26


We’re planning to see you next week. Our doors open at 9 a.m. Tuesday and here’s what you’ll find when you visit: We have hand sanitizer for you at the door. We’ll check your temperature and make sure you are wearing a mask. You can’t come in without a mask. There is a one-hour limit in the library, including computer use. You’ll find hand sanitizer throughout the building, so feel free to use it. Library hours are 9 a.m. until 6 p.m. Monday through Friday. We aren’t crazy about the changes we’ve had to make, but we’re doing our best for everyone.

If you’re happy with the noon and five p.m. curbside service, please keep using it. We plan to continue that as long as it’s needed. Just call or email us with your book, CD or DVD needs and we’ll have them ready for you to pick up.

Better times are ahead! Jeanette and Natalie are busy modifying summer programs. A couple of things you can look forward to will take place in Caldwell Park. Beginning Tuesday, June 16, Natalie will lead Preschool Story Time there, much like we’ve always done in the building. That begins at 11 a.m. There will also be a Book Walk for the whole family to enjoy.

Library Programs Summer Schedule

I always look forward to the Library Reads list which arrives monthly with recommendations on brand new books. The books listed will all come out in June.

The top pick for the month is Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia and it is “a perfect gothic mystery with an updated sensibility that will appeal to the modern reader. Noemi is a Mexico City socialite in the 1950s. When her father receives a disturbing letter from his niece, he sends Noemi to check on her cousin at the remote house where she is living—a grotesque and rotting English-style mansion, built on dirt imported from England by the colonialist family she has married into. Lush descriptions and the creepy atmosphere make this a good choice for readers who liked The Witch Elm, The Little Stranger, or The Haunting of Hill House.” (6-30) Lorena Neal

Five authors made the Hall of Fame author list with Library Reads. The fist one is Nalini Singh and her book is Alpha Night. “This continuation of the Psy-Changeling series features the shapeshifting wolves of Moscow and their pack alpha, Selenka. It also brings back many characters from previous books. This is another enjoyable fast-paced paranormal romance from Singh.” (6-9) Cathy Shields

Dance Away with Me by Susan Elizabeth Phillips is “a slow-burn romance that centers around a grieving young idow who is drawn into the life of a frustrated artist. The story’s darker turns are lightened by humor drawn from the small-town Tennessee setting. This one is highly recommended.” (6-9) Rose Miller

“If you knew something that was certain to change everything, would you keep it a secret to hold on to tranquility for one more day? B.A. Paris’s driving narrative in The Dilemma alternates between the perspectives of a husband and wife, and guarantees your book club will be divided over this very question.” (6-30) Lorri Steinbacher

In Home Before Dark by Riley Sager, “Maggie’s father wrote a famous book about the family’s paranormal experiences when she was a child living at Baneberry Hall. Twenty-six years later she returns to the house to finally face what happened long ago. This suspenseful and compelling book keeps you guessing to the very end.” (6-30) Ashley Borer

The fifth Hall of Fame author is Jasmine Guillory and her book is Party of Two. “In the fifth book of the Wedding Date series, sparks fly between a smart, independent lawyer and a charming, impulsive senator. Guillory thoughtfully incorporates serious issues into her books while keeping the tone light and uplifting. This is sweet, sexy, and a lot of fun.” (6-23) Jayme Hughes-Gartin

I’m smack dab in the middle of The Splendid and the Vile: A Saga of Churchill, Family, and Defiance During the Blitz by Erik Larson. I’ve decided that Winston Churchill is my hero! This is a fabulous nonfiction book that reads just like a novel. Larson’s research is incredible, thanks to the extensive notes people around Churchill took. If you want to put a face on history and see it come alive, read this book.

Take care of yourself, be kind and read a good book.

Helen Thompson, Director | Mount Pleasant Library

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in LIBRARY CORNER

Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/18/20 |

Posted on: September 18, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/11/20 |

Posted on: September 11, 2020
School Bus Outside Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/04/20 |

Posted on: September 4, 2020
An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/26/20 |

Posted on: August 28, 2020
Knockout Roses along the side of the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/22/20 |

Posted on: August 22, 2020
Mount Pleasant Seal at Public Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/14/20 |

Posted on: August 14, 2020
Man Reading A Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/07/20 |

Posted on: August 7, 2020
Stack of Books with Reading Glasses on top

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/31/20 |

Posted on: July 31, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 24, 2020
Signage for Story Walk in Caldwell Park

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 20, 2020
Statue of Children Reading with Masks On

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/04/20 |

Posted on: July 3, 2020
Story Time at Caldwell Park - Lady reading to children

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/26/20 |

Posted on: June 26, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/19/20 |

Posted on: June 19, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/12/20 |

Posted on: June 12, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/05/20 |

Posted on: June 5, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/29/20 |

Posted on: May 29, 2020
Toy Trains At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/15/20 |

Posted on: May 15, 2020
An inflatable clown greets customers to the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/08/20 |

Posted on: May 8, 2020
Curbside pickup from the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/01/20 |

Posted on: May 1, 2020
A couple in a car collecting library books curbside.

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/20 |

Posted on: April 23, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/17/20 |

Posted on: April 17, 2020
Art In The Library Event Thumbnail

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/09/20 |

Posted on: April 9, 2020