News Flash

LIBRARY CORNER

Posted on: May 1, 2020

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/01/20 |

Curbside pickup from the Mount Pleasant Library

Folks are calling and asking about our reopening plans, so here they are: While most Texas libraries have been totally closed, we have been offering curbside delivery and mobile printing. Wifi has been, and will continue to be, accessible outside the building. Phase One of our Reopening Plan keeps all of these things in place. We will continue what we’re doing until the governor speaks again May 18. For your safety and ours, we feel like this is the best course of action. We’re looking forward to seeing you all in the building, but until that’s possible, please call us and come by to pick up materials.

I was on a Zoom meeting earlier today with librarians from all over the country. We’re all in the same boat and we all want the same thing, and that is to be open and, of course, to do everything possible to keep us all safe. When we are able to open, the building will look a little different, at least for a while. We’ve installed sneeze guards at the circulation desk. In order to keep a proper distance between patrons, one computer will be available in each row of computers and use will be limited to one hour. Each reading table now has one chair and the study rooms will be for single use. All lounge furniture and all toys are in time out. We’ll happily return everything to its place when it is safe to do so.

On a happier note, there are some good books coming out this month. Fans of Charles Martin will be thrilled to know that his new book, The Water Keeper, promises to be one of his best. It’s action packed with heroism, heartache and, above all, the power of love to heal all wounds. Call us and we’ll put you on the list for this one.

Among the choices on May’s Library Reads list is Emma Straub’s All Adults Here. “The ripple effects of choices linger for years and ultimately shape matriarch Astrid and her children. As several generations grapple with their own truths, an opportunity to begin again ultimately draws them all closer. This book asks the question, ‘Who is truth ultimately for, who benefits from it, and who does it hurt?’ This one’s for fans of Clock Dance and The Most Fun We Ever Had.” (5-4) Jesica Sweedler

On the lighter side is Beach Read by Emily Henry. “Hooray for smart, emotional, well-written romance! Two old enemies meet by chance and decide to solve their writer’s block by swapping genres: Literary writer Augustus will trade his cynicism for a happily ever after, while January will try a ‘serious’ novel where everyone ends up realistically miserable. What could go wrong? Readers of Susan Mallery and Jennifer Cruisie will love this one.” (5-19) Sharon Layburn

In Jennifer Weiner’s Big Summer “Daphne is a plus-size Instagram influencer who is lovable, funny and honest. She is surprised when her former best friend—rich, beautiful, mean girl Drue—asks her to be in her summer wedding on Cape Cod. Readers of modern romance, women’s fiction, mystery, and beach chic-lit will all find something here to ponder. This is perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Emily Giffin.” (5-5) Kathleen Redfearn

Laura Hankin brings us Happy & You Know It. “Claire is a musician whose former band became famous without her. She takes a gig singing nursery rhymes for a playgroup, and her life takes a couple of sharp lefts from there! This one’s for fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Elizabeth Berg.” (5-19) Danielle Hansard

Natalie Jenner’s novel, The Jane Austen Society takes place “just after WWII and is set in the small village of Chawton where Jane Austen lived at the end of her life. The story is populated with a farmer, the local doctor, a heart-broken widow, a movie actress and other assorted characters. The one thing they all have in common? They all love Jane Austen. This one’s for those who enjoyed The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Fowler.” (5-26) Claudia Silk

In The Wife Stalker by Liv Constantine, “Piper Reynard has moved to Connecticut to start over. She meets Leo, a handsome and successful lawyer whose wife, Joanna, is still waiting for Leo to start focusing on her and the kids. Joanna is determined to find the truth out about Piper, but no one wants to believe what she uncovers. This one’s for fans of B.A. Paris and A.J. Flinn.” (5-19) Laura Sanders

April is in the books and we’re all hoping that May brings brighter, healthier times for everyone. Happy reading and we’ll see you soon!

Helen Thompson | Director | Mount Pleasant Public Library


Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in LIBRARY CORNER

Library Books On Shelves

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/23/20 |

Posted on: November 23, 2020
Fall Ragdoll decoration at the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 11/06/20 |

Posted on: November 6, 2020
Fall decoration of dolls in a wagon

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/09/20 |

Posted on: October 9, 2020
Orange Fall Leaves

LIBRARY CORNER | 10/02/20 |

Posted on: October 2, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/18/20 |

Posted on: September 18, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Entry Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/11/20 |

Posted on: September 11, 2020
School Bus Outside Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 09/04/20 |

Posted on: September 4, 2020
An Open Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/26/20 |

Posted on: August 28, 2020
Knockout Roses along the side of the Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/22/20 |

Posted on: August 22, 2020
Mount Pleasant Seal at Public Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/14/20 |

Posted on: August 14, 2020
Man Reading A Book

LIBRARY CORNER | 08/07/20 |

Posted on: August 7, 2020
Stack of Books with Reading Glasses on top

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/31/20 |

Posted on: July 31, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 24, 2020
Signage for Story Walk in Caldwell Park

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/20/20 |

Posted on: July 20, 2020
Statue of Children Reading with Masks On

LIBRARY CORNER | 07/04/20 |

Posted on: July 3, 2020
Story Time at Caldwell Park - Lady reading to children

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/26/20 |

Posted on: June 26, 2020
Library Fun Summer Activity Flyer

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/19/20 |

Posted on: June 19, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/12/20 |

Posted on: June 12, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 06/05/20 |

Posted on: June 5, 2020
Statue of Children Reading outside Mount Pleasant Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/29/20 |

Posted on: May 29, 2020
Library Summer Fun

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/22/20 |

Posted on: May 22, 2020
Toy Trains At The Library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/15/20 |

Posted on: May 15, 2020
An inflatable clown greets customers to the library

LIBRARY CORNER | 05/08/20 |

Posted on: May 8, 2020
A couple in a car collecting library books curbside.

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/23/20 |

Posted on: April 23, 2020
Mount Pleasant Library Sign

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/17/20 |

Posted on: April 17, 2020
Art In The Library Event Thumbnail

LIBRARY CORNER | 04/09/20 |

Posted on: April 9, 2020